Spinach and Red Pepper Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I cut the recipe down to serve 2, and it could still feel an army. I also did a little modification; I didnt have chicken or veggie broth, so I used water and added more salt to compensate. I left out the ground basil and added red pepper flakes to give it a bit of a bite. Overall this is pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
V tasty. I made it with the apple cider vinegar and also added mushrooms plus red and green peppers. I was worried it might be a bit bland but it really is quite flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I scaled this recipe down to two servings and it fed my fiancé and myself and provided leftovers for my lunch the next day. The colors in this dish were wonderful—very appealing to the eye and palate. The only thing I changed was to substitute apple cider vinegar for the rice vinegar since I didn’t have any. I ended up using the optional raisins and they proved to be a welcome addition. I also added some extra spinach at the end of cooking to give the dish that extra healthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe was the first time I ever made couscous, and I'm glad I found such a great one to learn on. The couscous is light and satisfying, and really helps the fresh produce become outstanding. Not being a fan of onion I left it out and just added more diced pepper, and while I THOUGHT I had the rice vinegar I truly did not and thus subsituted red wine vinegar - not something I'll do again as the rice is much milder, but it still made a great dish. It comes together so quickly on the stovetop it's almost magic, and I love the wilted spinach - I plan to add a little more next time for our tastes. Maybe cheese when I'm feeling decadent, but truly this recipe doesn't need it (and I put cheese on EVERYTHING). It really impressed my boyfriend - thanks so much for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was an ok side dish, but not amazing. I wished it has more of a savory flavor than it did. It looked more appealing than it actually tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Utgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Fantastic! I've made this several times now. The rice wine vinegar really adds a lovely touch. I sub israeli couscous and, accordingly, cook a bit longer. I have also only served this cold. I use golden raisins. Also, the first time I made this I accidentally used twice the amount of spinach - a happy accident. Now, I add part of the spinach during the cooking, and part right before I am going to serve for a wonderful, fresh touch. Sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Los Feliz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I used fresh herbs & raisins. Add 1/2 orange bell pepper. Whole wheat couscous with flax seed is available in the Hodgson Mill brand. Apple Cider Vinegar may be used in place of Seasoned Rice Vinegar. I favor coarse salt also known as kosher salt for a little twist of different flavor than table salt. Serve with orange roughy recipe of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I was in a hurry when I was making this, so I didn't take the time to chop up any onions, but it survived without it. I did have some spinach that needed to be used, which I tore up and tossed in to wilt at the end of cooking, as well as some halved cherry tomatoes. I didn't have currants or raisins, either, but I had Craisins and they were a light, fruity, pleasant addition! Very unique (and delicious) flavor from this recipe! I used whole wheat couscous and less oil than the recipe calls for. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I prepared this dish using organic whole wheat couscous and 1.5 tsp of ready-minced garlic from a jar. I omitted the raisins, and I used 1 small yellow onion instead of 1/2 a large red onion. I also used a green bell pepper instead of red. Some reviewers had complained that this dish has a sour, vinegary taste, and to prevent that, I didn't use the full amount of rice vinegar that was called for. It still had a bit of a vinegary taste, but it's not overpowering. It actually smells more vinegary than it tastes; still, I'd have liked it to taste less like vinegar, but I'm not sure what I could use as a substitute for that ingredient. I served this dish with "Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs" from this site, and I didn't notice the vinegary flavor when the couscous was eaten with the chicken; it's only when you eat the couscous alone that you notice the vinegar. Overall I though the flavor and texture of this dish was pretty good, and I will most likely make it again, but I will probably just leave out the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States