Spinach and Red Chard Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Success! My first tofu dish, and I didn't admit it until everyone was well into enjoying their supper. I used my never fail Olive oil - Whole wheat crust, but will not pre-cook it next time. Next time, also, I will just chop the spinach and chard and cook down with the onions. I added 2 eggs since tofu would not "blend" without more liquid. Also left out the "sweet" spices and added our favourites, and about half the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauriePat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Because of what a few others said about the seasonings I was worried it would not be good....was I wrong! It is amazing!!! The only change I had was I baked it in a 9x13 dish and changed out the oyster mushrooms for crimini mushrooms. This is one of my new favorite recipes. Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Thumbs down from my family... Didn't like the consistency,flavor was ok. Had to add a bit more milk for it to blend but only a little. First not so good recipe from this site so I am doing well so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Excellent taste and texture. I followed the recipe as written, except instead of steaming I sauted the greens with everything else. I loved it fresh and reheated. Mine fit in one pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was surprisingly good and oh so healthy! I would totallly agree with other reviewers that said the tofu is not a good base. I used have a tub of firm tofu and two eggs and it was still a bit runny. Next time I think I will just do all eggs. Be sure to use the chard stems - when chopped and added to this, it give some color (looks like tomatoes) and adds a bit of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
add cooked bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I have now made this recipe twice, with very good results both times. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is much better the second day - the texture improves, and the flavors meld and mellow very nicely. I cut back on the cinnamon, nutmeg, and curry powder the second time around, and I prefer the milder flavor. It keeps well in the fridge for several days. I heat up a slice in my small oven for a quick, healthy, and tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was just okay. A little soupier than a normal quiche might be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
WOW -- OK, when I first made this, I was NOT impressed (consistency was weird and I thought it needed eggs)... BUT a day later and reheated, it's TO DIE FOR. I left out the capers because I don't like them, and added just a tad bit more milk to the blender to make the tofu mixture a bit more creamy. Oh, and I didn't brown the crust first... just thawed it from frozen. And, I didn't steam the greens first. I didn't understand this extra step anyway. Just add to the onion/garlic mixture when called for. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
i thought this was very nice. i am trying to incorporate more soy into my diet, and this recipe is a keeper. i confess, i made it with a combo of tofu & egg (i was worried about the consistency, as some reviewers mentioned), and with a combination i thought it was very good! thanks for adding a completely different recipe to my repitoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States