Spinach and Potato Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This is my recipe and I am always changing and adding things. I recently added fresh (or dried)basil and diced tomatoes along with the spinach and it makes this dish 2 times better. Thanks for the reviews and the comments. Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
The possibilities are ENDLESS! I opted to cut the potatoes up, put them in a large bowl, coat them in olive oil, season with salt, pepper, italian seasoning, garlic salt, and cayan pepper, roll them around a bit to coat and THEN cook them. I also put it in the oven to continue cooking the eggs. I topped with cheddar, mozerella, and feta cheeses and a bit more italian seasoning and fresh tomatoes. There are SOOO many things you can do with this recipe! Go to town!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This recipe is so good I always double it, using a 12in. straight sided skillet. Great leftovers. There are some shortcuts that can cut the prep time at least in half. I use a 30 oz bag of frozen potatoes, shredded or o'Brien. Almost any size bag of prewashed spinach coarsely shredded will do. Powdered garlic and onion can work fine if used generously. I have never used milk in it because I use a whole dozen extra-large eggs. My mom, who is 95 likes it plain, my husband sprinkles it with cajun seasoning, and many eat it with salsa. In an extended family of disgustingly finicky eaters, everyone from 3 to 95 likes this! Happily for me, I was told me about this dish over twenty years ago, but I have never seen it in print before. You have done everyone a huge favor by sharing it,Cheryl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Have made similar recipe for more years than I care to admit. My only complaint about this one is that the potatoes were so bland they detractred from the overall flavour. Try seasoning the potatoes with garlic powder, Mrs. Dash, and salt & pepper as they are cooking so they can absorb the flavors. I always add mushrooms with the onions and garlic and saute until the water has cooked out. I also omit some of the egg yolks (whites only), which allows me to add lots of yummy Swiss cheese without making the dish too decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
this was so easy to make and tasty. i added twice as much spinach than what the recipe called for and a few less potatos. i also put it in a 400 degree oven for about 8 minutes after it was on the burner for 6. it was also very good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
FANTASTIC! This is the 1st recipe I've ever taken the time to write to you about because it was SO GOOD I made the time. Even though it was the first time I made it, I modified it slightly by adding fresh, quartered grape tomatoes, 2 strips of bacon crumbled and doubled the cheese. My 3 young boys would never eat cooked Spinach and before I knew it, the whole thing was gone! Oh, I also substituted the fresh garlic with garlic salt because I figured it would be more evenly distributed that way. Of course I eliminated additional salt. I will make this ALOT!! Inexpensive, healthy, quick - and eaten. What else could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This was pretty good, but I will be making some changes the next time I make it. Potatoes are best if sliced thin, but they only take about 8ish minutes to cook. Reduce the amount of olive oil you cook it in, and increase spinach and cheese if you don't want the potatoes to overpower it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I made this with extra spinach and mini yukon gold potatoes. Also I used six egg whites and three whole eggs instead of six whole eggs. Light and delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
The proportions seemed off to me in the recipe. I used large red potatoes so I only used two...but there were still way too many potatoes. And even though I doubled the spinach, I thought there should have been more. I will try this again...but I will cut down on the potatoes even more. One other thing I would suggest is to generously add salt and pepper to the potatoes before addding the egg mixture...I found the potatoes to be a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I made this frittata for brunch for friends and it was really easy and quick. Everybody loved it!! I doubled the spinach and it was delicious (and I dont even like spinach!). The next time I made it, I used jalapeno jack cheese instead of the cheddar--and it was even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States