Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This dish was excellent! Truly simple and delicious! But I confess - after reading the directions, I ignored them (two steps??). I also didn't measure or time anything properly, but no matter - this couldn't go wrong unless you have the heat too high. My simplified version: Saute the garlic (and a julienned red pepper) in the oil (just until the pepper slightly loses its brightness). Add the damp spinach and stir to wilt, then add pine nuts, salt and pepper. Cook until you're happy with the consistency by simmering a few minutes longer at med-high to reduce any extra liquid. I sprinkled each serving with a scant tsp of finely grated mild cheese, and this was fabulous. I added the red pepper for a little extra flavour and a bit of visual pop. Definitely a keeper, and most likely a regular dish in our house from now on. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I've made a similar recipe before with one variation: I toast the pine nuts in the oven before adding them to the spinach and garlic...everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Love this, but we ALWAYS add raisins (equal amount to pine nuts). Raisins, pine nuts and spinach were made to go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This is my favorite way to prepare spinach. I add golden raisins and salt to this recipe. If you are looking to cut down the fat, it is delicious without the pine nuts, too. (In which case I strongly encourage the raisins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Hmmm, just two teaspoons of olive oil for three pounds of spinach doesn't seem nearly enough to me. I just drizzle, but I know I use considerably more. This was the first time I added pine nuts, which I toasted in the microwave, and I don't think they did anything to improve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I love spinach and pine nuts. This recipe is delicious! My kitchen smelled great after making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Good recipe, easy to make. I used frozen chopped spinach and it worked well. My family loved it. Thought the recipe could use more garlic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
I never thought I would eat spinach .. this recipe has changed my way of thinking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was really good, I even forgot to toast my pine nuts which I'm sure would have made it much better! I only suggest adding a bit of fresh nutmeg, it gives it a little something extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
very good.....just needed to add some salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States