Spinach and Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Great base recipe....needs some modifications, since proportions are not adequate as is. Have made this with 1/4 of the ingredients, except needed the same amounts of onion, oil and vinegar. I actually premixed the dressing and have also used raspberry vinegar instead since I ran out of balsamic...both are good. I add some sugar too to the dressing. Also added some green pepper and goat cheese rather than feta. I preferred the goat cheese, but that is just my taste. Change all you want...still a good idea with different ingredients than most salads. Makes ALOT of salad, which is why unless I have a crowd I only use 1/4 or 1/2 a recipe, since I don't like the spinach too wilted. Arugula is my next additive when it's ready in the garden! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I made this for a retirement party and the friend next to me said, "I understand you made this; I want the recipe! The amount was rather large but it was almost gone at the end of the 2 hour party. It's a great refreshing summer salad. I cooked the orzo the night before, added the other ingredients the next afternoon and dressed it an hour before the "vultures" descended. I added more dried basil than it called for but I think I will add even more next time or use fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious!! I added a couple of things but kept the base recipe. I added quartered cherry tomatoes, chopped black olives, and instead of feta, I used cubed provolone. I also toasted the pine nuts as another reviewer recommended...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
With some revisions this is a 5 star recipe. I will definitely make it again. As a side dish this serves 10 to 12. I halved the dressing recipe and added some minced garlic. I reduced the amount of red onion. I like to soak slices in cold water for awhile to take out some of the sharpness. Then drain and chop. Lightly toast the pine nuts. I added some drained chopped marinated artichokes. If serving as a main dish, I will add cooked chicken. I think grape tomatoes and kalamata olives would be good too. After draining and rinsing the orzo, I spread it on a cookie to dry before combining all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I made this for a weekend get-together lunch with friends. I thought it was pretty good, but not quite a five-star recipe. My friends said they liked it too. I made it exactly as written, and should note that the recipe makes a lot of salad - those "8 servings" are pretty big, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This is a crowd pleaser...I take it every year to a wine tasting potluck and no matter what meat the host chooses to serve- this pairs perfectly. It's also nice because you can serve it cool to room temp so it keeps on the counter for awhile for slow eaters or long potlucks. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
It was terrific, but I modified a few things. Instead of using pine nuts, I added garbanzo beans. I also added in about 2 tablespoon of ground cumin (or to taste) which I think gives it a very nice aroma and taste. I replaced the dried basil for fresh finely chopped cilantro. Then I added very little salt to taste. Last thing I want to say is the strong smell of balsamic vinegar goes away after refrigerating it for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Like take to pot lucks - always gone I added tomato /sundried ,olives maybe top with crispy bacon,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
very good! used bacon instead because it was on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Little changes make this amazing and it fits in my 'perfect' dish catagory...quick and healthy. The second time making this I cut the oil/vinegar in half and it was perfect for us. I sauté the onions for a moment with the pine nuts (both ways are good) and add kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States