Spinach and Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made this recipe for a pot luck to serve 25+. It was fresh and fabulous. From past experience with quantities and flavors, I edited it a bit and used 1/3 the balsamic vinegar, 2/3 the oil and 1/2 the spinach called for in the recipe. I also added chopped fresh garlic and substituted some of the olive oil with a basil pesto oil. In the future I may try it with white balsamic vinegar for a nicer look and throw in some kalamata olives and sun dried tomatoes. The recipe is relatively simple and tastes gourmet compared to a standard pasta or potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I tried this recipe for a mothers day picnic; everyone thought it was OK, nothing exciting. I personally think it is bland; I had to add some sea salt to it. I probably won't create this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Simply put...delish!!! I'll definitely be making this one again, as it's a great side dish for the summer. Loved the balance of flavors and the seasonings are perfect. Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made the recipe exactly except that I used fresh basil, and it was great. Next time I will toast the pine nuts for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Wonderful filling salad that everyone loves. They have even eaten it as a main meal as it has everything in it. I use slivered almonds toasted instead of pine nuts which cuts the cost and gives it another added flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
YUM! this is a fantastic recipe. I toasted the pine nuts to bring out the nutty flavor, and it was great! Althought next time, I think I will use half the oil and vinegar recommended because the balsamic was a little overwelming. and i'll probably put more feta cheese in because that's how i like it. very very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slvrbttrfli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I ran across this recipe looking for something healthy and this has got to be one of my favorites. I love all the flavors and can be very healthy if you use low fat feta cheese. I made the full recipe for myself one weekend to try it out. It was gone by Sunday! I've made it three more times since then and I still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Soooo good and you don't really have to eat cold. Added sun-dried tomatoes too. Made lots of leftovers. Perfect for a potlatch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The salad was really good. However the dressing was a bit too oily for my liking however my adult children really liked it. Next time I will buy a dressing from the supermarket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was okay, not great. Maybe served under some grilled chicken with some greek dressing it would be good, but as a salad it was really missing something. I brought it for a pot-luck and had most of the bowl left by the end of the evening. It really could use something extra, like some black olives and cucumbers to give it some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States