Spinach and Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This was eaten enthusiastically by the people at a pot luck dinner. Because of time constraints I had to make it the day before. I thought it would allow the flavors to blend, but I wouldn't recommend it since the pasta, cheese and onion all absorbed the dressing and turned brownish from the balsamic vinegar. But it tasted great and the appearance didn't stop anyone from eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I LOVE this salad. I add sun dried tomatoes and kalamata olives as well. I find that you don't need an entire 10 oz package of baby spinach (I only use about half of a 6 oz bag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This was delicious and is a new favorite. I added black olives, artichokes, and sun-dried tomatoes. The recipe makes a TON though, so i had enough for several meals. I served this as a side to "Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon" from this site and they went together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I used farfalle instead of orzo and since my husband does not care for feta, I substituted with a mixture of provolone and mozzarella cheeses. I also added grated Romano, salt, garlic powder and parsley. I toasted the pine nuts for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
Oh my this was wonderful. I could've eaten just this for a couple of days and been very happy. I halved the recipe and served it for guests, who demanded the recipe. :) The only changes I made were using fresh basil instead of dried and black pepper instead of white. I know there is a lower fat/calorie feta cheese that I might try next time. Yes there will be a next time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Loved it - so good for any occasion. Barely used any Olive Oil - and put the juice of 1 lemon and the balsamic vinegar. Love this also with baby Roma tomatoes, or cherry tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this salad for Thanksgiving and added dried cranberries and used half of the oil and vinegar. Absolutely delicious!!! Definately will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
Yum! What a great flavor. I will make this again and again! Even 1/2 the recipe makes a lot, so I'll make 1/4 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I left out the pine nuts (not a big fan), but added some strips of leftover roast chicken I had. It was very filling, fresh-tasting, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Terrific! Don't add the spinach until the last minute, but everything else can be done ahead. Had a large group for memorial day and with multiple cooks and multiple dishes, this was hands down the big winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States