Spinach and Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Excellent, easy and tastey! I added grape tomatoes, cucumber and red/yellow peppers, cut the oil and vinegar in half. Great for a large party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rattie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
followed another reviewer's suggestion and added 1 jar of sun-dried tomatoes, 1 can of artichoke hearts and 1 can of sliced black olives and didn't have pine nuts so omitted it and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Delicious... I added Michigan dried cherries since I'm fond of adding "local" ingredients!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was so good I had a friend go out and buy the ingredients so I could make it again. Yum, I too added sun dried tomatoes and olives. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is just the recipe I've been looking for. I didn't change a thing except I cut it in half because there were only four of us. As good as the Orzo and Spinach deli salads I've had - but so much fresher. The family agrees - for us this is a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
OH YUM! I made this for 4th of July without doing a test-run first but this turned out FANTASTIC. I didn't want a mayo-based salad because of the heat wave we're experiencing and this fit the bill. I only used about 5 oz. of the spinach leaves and I used about 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil instead of dried. I skipped the pine nuts because they were insanely expensive but I added an 8.5 oz jar or sundried tomatoes - and this MADE the salad, we thought!. I used some minced onion instead of the fresh and added about 2 T. Dijon mustard and 3 T. minced garlic to the dressing. Couldn't stop eating this - thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is an excellent pasta salad. I will use fresh basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is a nice change of pace for a pasta based salad - no mayo and no overwhelming bottled Italian dressing. I do believe the proportions are a bit off, though. I used half the dressing amount and it was plenty to coat the salad without being too oily (be sure to add the seasonings and mix the oil and vinegar until they emulsify fully before adding it to the salad). I think the onion instruction is too vague. I started with 1/4 of a red onion and finely chopped it. It came to a scant 1/2 cup and that was more than plenty - and I like red onion. While the feta adds a depth of flavor to this that I like, the finished product was only okay- not great. As written it's a 3 star recipe for us - average and not one that we'd go back to. I decided to doctor up the leftovers (of which there were plenty) and added in some chopped kalamata olives, some artichoke hearts and, believe it or not, some craisins. Now it's something we like well enough to keep and repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
My family loves salads. So I tried this one as a side with the Addicitve Sweet Potatoe Burrito. Well, they loved it and it complimented the burrito well. VERY FLAVORFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I mixed cooked orzo with some milk, added boiled shredded chicken, apple, celery, green onion, peas, bacon, spinach, tomato, shredded cheese, and various seasonings. I added a mix of ranch and mayo cuz I didn't feel like using a vinegar-based dressing. It was prob more similar to the BLT pasta salad recipe on this site, but we liked it a lot with the orzo, thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States