Spinach and Mushroom Quiche with Shiitake Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
WOW! This came out absolutely perfect. I thought all the 10-minute baking increments was weird, but I followed the directions and it was just perfect; not too moist, not too dry. I even used frozen spinach instead of fresh and I was afraid it would be mushy. I didn't have bacon or green onions, either, so I can't wait to make it again with ALL the ingredients. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Berserkr
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good! The spinach has a distinct flavor from the rest of the quiche. I had to cook it 10min longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was fabulous! My husband gave high praise, too. The directions for cook time and method were just right-- no guessing or worrying about an overdone or underdone quiche. And the flavor! I did substitute regular bacon for turkey bacon (it was what we had) and kale for spinach (preference). I can't wait to make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Terrific!! Didn’t want to buy a package of turkey bacon to use 1 slice called for in this recipe. Instead, added a heaping teaspoon of bacon grease to give this some ‘bacon’ flavor, and eliminated the 1/4 cup butter. Stirring the egg mixture into the vegetable mixture after it was placed into the pie shell seemed like an opportunity to damage the crust. Poured about 1/3 of the egg mixture into the vegetables, and then spooned the combined mixture into the pie shell with the remaining egg mixture poured into the shell. The last ten minute baking time increment, with the quiche foiled, had to be extended an extra 6 minutes to get a clean toothpick. Will make this again soon as the hungry clan devoured this quiche in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by emilycooks
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I will definitely make this again! I didn't have any bacon, so I skipped it. I guess I made it vegetarian then, right? I add five minutes at the very end after I took the foil off so that it firmed up a bit. It was delicious! Next time, I'm going to sprinkle some seasoned salt on the top for a spicy kick. This recipe could not have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plain City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Loved it!! Wonderful and easy recipe that actually took me the amount of time it designated for. It was quick, easy and delicious. After I took my first bite, I found that there was something missing. For my own taste buds, I added some tomato sauce to mix up the texture and add a little more flavor. It was a struggle to find sides. I added green beans with onion that i bought from a local grocery store. In the end, a very good basic recipe that I made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckelleher14
Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great recipe! The shiitake mushrooms were fantastic. I also added a bit of goat cheese that I had lying around and needed to use up. It was a good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States