Spinach and Mushroom Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
I have finally solved the "too bland" problem for this recipe. I mixed in 1/4 cup KRAFT PARM PLUS-ZESTY RED PEPPER (Parmesan cheese) to the dough mix. I also used a cheese cloth to squeeze the juices from the spinach. Perfect!! I made this for a party, and set out little recipe cards...and returned home with none. I am so impressed by this recipe! I do think that they taste best served warm. And I LOVE the fact that you can make these little beauties up to three months in advance, cut them up & bake them whenever. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
If you use Pillsbury crescent rolls and press each two-roll section together you will find a easy, tasty dough to use instead of the homemade pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I do catering on the side, and decided to try this interesting recipe for a job I just did. What a hit! Everyone loved them, even some who claimed not to like spinach. I skipped the fry pan for the spinach and used to microwave. Also added 4 strips of cooked and cumbled bacon to the finished filling. Very good, but will try adding more next time! Dough for this was so good, and would be excellent with a variety of fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
Great recipe! I made these for my parents anniversary party and everyone raved about them. I made them a few weeks before and did not slice the loaves. I froze them whole and then the morning of the party I took them out of the freezer and let them sit out for a few hours and them sliced them. They sliced perfectly this way. They were time consuming to make but it was so worth the effort it took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
These looked and tasted fantastic. There was enough from this recipe to make two generous plates of pinwheels, which I took to two different parties. I left the rolls frozen until the day I needed them and then defrosted slightly to cut into pinwheel rounds. The rounds cut very well when the rolls were still partially frozen and were very even, cut this way. Lots of people at the two parties I went to asked for the recipe, which shows how popular this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This would be an excellent appetizer if you didn't have to prepare it youself. It just took too long (I'm a new cook, so take that into account.) It was also a little on the bland side, we topped it with a little salsa to spice it. The dough needed something else...not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I just made these for my husband's surprise party this past weekend and they were a hit! Everyone loved them, and there was a comment made that they were a nice alternative to the ones stuffed with tons of meat and cheese. The only change I made was to add real garlic rather than garlic powder for that extra punch. I'm definately making these for Christmas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
I have made this several times. I have also used the dough recipie for potpies, and the spinach and mushroom recipe makes a great base for mushroom soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
i didn't mind the work that went into these. the dough was easy to make and work with, and the filling was tasty. for some reason, my second roll turned out a bit better than the first (as in it held together better) but i think that may have had something to do with flouring the surface really thoroughly - that makes it much easier. they were a hit at my holiday party and they looked great on the plate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I recently served these at a party and they were a hit. The vegetarians loved a special treat and the meat eaters loved them too! I doubled the parmesan cheese and used half a carrot for color. Other than that the only advice I would have it to really squeeze the spinach mixture well. I squeezed small amounts in my hand until it was as dry as possible. The dough isn't as hard to work with and the bite size pieces don't fall apart. I will definately make them again! So easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States