Spinach and Mushroom Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Instead of making the pinwheels, I used puff pastry and put a small square in a tiny muffin pan and then filled it with the filling. I added sour cream and garlic to the filling--with those changes they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
The dough is bland and the amount of it rolled into the pinwheel makes for a dry bland appetizer. However the filling is great. Previous suggestions about rolling dough thinner may help but could make it too delicate to slice? Will use the filling with fillo or puff pastry dough in the future. Parchment paper is a must so the egg wash doesnt glue it to your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
found these to be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahlitsa
Home Town: Odessa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Elegant looking appetizer. I added minced garlic for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This recipe (as is) is quite bland. It has a great presentation though and worth doctoring up and trying again. A little time consuming but once the seasonings are right will be worth it. The dough was dry & tasteless, but easy to roll out and work with. Would suggest adding seasonings to the dough & rolling a little thinner, also spice up the filling quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Made a double batch because I was having 60 for cocktails. Loved the make ahead idea, didn't mind doing the work (although it was a bit time consuming),got great reivews at the party, but have 1 major complaint. Recipe says ungreased cookie sheet and I had great difficulty getting them off the sheet without breaking them. Next time I will lightly spray it so hopefully they won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Very good, but I did change the filling. First, I used three types of mushrooms: portobello, porcini and canned. Sauteed with the onion, garlic and deglazed with a little wine and reduced. Added de spinach, grated gouda cheese, a little cream and parmesan. Chopped it in the food processor and omitted oregano. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
i did not like these at all. the dough and the filling need more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alum Creek, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
These were really popular at my party. I really liked the pastry part of these, however I'm only giving it 4 stars because I felt the filling was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This is ok. I am definately not a picky eater or much of a food critic usually...However...for the amount of prep time that goes into this it needs more flavor. It's great that it can be frozen and then pulled out...use your own judgement and add some flavor and the recipe will become 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States