Spinach and Mushroom Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The dough was hard to work with. I added more fresh garlic for flavour. I liked the fact that I could toss one roll in the freezer for another potluck a week later. They were well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were the hit of my New Year's party, thanks! I added a bit more to the spices. I added 1/2 tsp white pepper, 1 tsp red pepper flakes, and 1/2 tsp dried marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AELAINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Based on comments about blandness of dough and filling, I added some paprika, parmesan cheese and a litle garlic salt to the dough. For the filling, I used half olive oil and half butter to saute. To the spinach-mushroom mixture, I added a bunch of chopped fresh dill, crumbled feta cheese (make sure the pieces are very small), a large clove of finely chopped garlic, and additional salt and freshly ground pepper. Everyone loved them. I'm interested in making them smaller next time--maybe rolling up the dough the long way instead of the short way ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I liked this alot after I made my changes to the recipe. Added parmesan and a little cayenne to dough. Added white wine and cream to onions, garlic and spinich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cndysc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I made these for a Halloween party....I made them two weeks prior to the party, froze the logs and pulled them out of the fridge the morning of the party. They came out perfect! I did use fresh mushrooms. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
ok. not much worth the time/effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made these pinwheels for a bridal shower and they were a hit! I used refrigerated pastry dough instead of making my own, just to save time, and it tasted great. Also, I added a few extra things like red bell peppers and slices of ham. I made the rolls about 2 weeks before the party, froze them, and then just thawed them, sliced, baked and served. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldenlocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Used the suggestions for puff pastry and 1/2 cup shredded swiss cheese for extra flavor (and less work). Did not use all of them for my party and took some to work with some mild black bean and white corn salsa. A co-worker who caters asked for the recipe. I've already made more to stock my freezer. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
If you use Pillsbury crescent rolls and press each two-roll section together you will find a easy, tasty dough to use instead of the homemade pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
These were well recieved by our guests but I agree with others that the dough could use a bit of spicing up. I will try these again using Parmesan cheese in the dough as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States