Spinach and Mushroom Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I sauteed the mushrooms with some onions before combining it with other ingredients. I also added shredded mozzarella to the mixture and on top. I added about 1/4 teaspoon of salt in the mixture as well. It was delicious and a definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is a very nice basic recipe that has lots of room for alterations based on what you like in your frittata. I had a bunch of veggies in my fridge that I knew wouldn't be used quickly enough before they spoiled so I tossed in broccoli, mushrooms, green onions, and grape tomatoes. Sauteed everything except tomatoes in a pan before mixing with ricotta cheese and eggs. Instead of parmesan I used a Mexican blend of 4 cheeses I had leftover from a taco dinner. Added cayenne and nutmeg to the other spices. Sprinkled more cheese on top and baked for 30 mins. I might have baked it a few minutes too long because it was a little dry but it was definitely a nice change from same old boring eggs and toast breakfast! Next time I might add some garlic, green peppers and potatoes. Would also be great with some bacon or sausage in there too. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was good and healthy and also easy to make. The kids ate it up. However I thought it needed it a something else maybe a little strong cheese such as feta and a little nutmeg? However quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very easy, nice flavor. I substituted cottage cheese for ricotta because I had it on hand, and it worked nicely. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great recipe! I did make some changes to create a low fat version. I used 8 eggs (2 eggs and 6 egg whites)a bit of skim milk and 1/3 cup light mozzarella cheese instead of ricotta, omitted the Parmesan cheese & scallions and used 1/4 tsp of rosemary and thyme. I also sauteed the mushrooms in olive oil and garlic before adding them to the egg/milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ian

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Perfect for a lazy Sunday dinner. Easy to make and you could easily have this as a make ahead meal that is good enough to serve up for unexepected guests. My only change was to add 2 tsp of garlic powder to the mixture before baking. It took me 45 minutes to get my frittata to set. The texture was lovely - not too greasy but full falvoured. I didn't need to saute the mushrooms beforehand to get a great tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used 9 eggs (because I used a 9x9 baking dish), 1 box frozen chopped spinach, some mushrooms, bacon, feta/parm/shredded cheeses. I had to cook a little longer so that the eggs weren't runny. Def gonna make this again but with more bacon and half the spinach (whole pkg was spinach overload, and this is coming from someone who loves spinach) **update** after making this 3 different times, the secret seems to be bacon, and some chopped up fresh spinach (not frozen). I forgot to get bacon last time and it turned out too dry with just egg/spinach/sauteed mushrooms. Sauteeing the shrooms was overkill and botched the flavor as well. Cook a bunch of bacon, then chop it and use lots of cheddar cheese for best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Great recipe to make your own!!! This recipe is easy to customize just add your own wet or dry ingredients. I used the spinach with some left over salmon, carrots and various cheeses on hand. My hubby loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Served this twice this weekend, at 2 back to back birthday parties for my daughter, and everyone raved. I sauteed my onions and mushrooms first (added a few extra white ones as well), and used dry basil alone because I don't love premixed spices. Also on the second day when I made it I sprinkled in a little nutmeg and that really worked well. A bunch of people wanted the recipe and even the kids ate it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was perfect as written. Didn't do a thing differently...my family loved it. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States