Spinach and Mushroom Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I made a few alterations because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. Like a previous user I substituted small curd cottage cheese for the ricotta. Instead of grated Parmesan cheese I used a colby/monterey jack mix I had leftover in the refrigerator. I did not have portobello mushrooms on hand so I used 1/2 lb white button mushrooms instead. I sliced them and sauteed them with 1/4 medium yellow onion (again, I did not have any green scallions) in a small bit of butter until soft. I also added 1/4 teaspoon dried basil. The frittata turned out fantastic!! In the future I may add some feta cheese and perhaps substitute the eggs with egg whites. This made a great lunch/ dinner! Overall my family and I were very pleased!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.pamelaedwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I used egg whites....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe very much! I actually skipped lunch waiting to make this, and then ate almost half the pie plate :-) I didn't have green onions, so I just used a yellow. I think it would be great too with some turkey bacon. This recipe is definitely on my make again list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Edible, but just not my cup-o-tea. I found the spinach to be very overwhelming in texture as well as flavor. I couldn't taste the ricotta at all. I may try a variation of this again, but as written it just missed the mark for me. Thank you so much for sharing though, I'm sure others will think it is great if they are big spinach fans. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was an easy and delicious recipe. I added sauteed onions. My family loved it, and suggested I add bacon next time, which would probably be delicious. I would also try this recipe with a home-made wheat crust, although it certainly would add some calories and fat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I loved this, I used what I had on hand: canned mushrooms sauteed in garlic, 1 c. cottage cheese & 2 tbsp. parmesean sprinkled on top. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Its really good... I added more ricotta and i used Italian Bread Crumbs with Romano cheese. gave it a really yummy flavor. The mushrooms made it a little bit runny, but the taste was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. I added one additional egg, several strips of crumbled bacon, and for the parmesan cheese part, I added half parmesan and half shredded swiss. Also added a quarter cup of feta cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Richards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Liked very much, made it for a group gathering with a chili sauce to put on top. People raved, nice touch with the ricotta. I can't eat dairy, but tried a small piece anyway, didn't make any adjustments except the optional chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Vafeades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was fabulous! I did saute the onions and mushrooms first. I used low fat ricotta. I also added 10 links of cooked turkey sausage because I love meat in everything. It added a great spice! The cooking and cooling times were perfect. This was very easy and delicious. Will definitely make again very soon! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States