Spinach and Mushroom Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Although I had to make substitutions based on my pantry, I thought this dish was very good. (Sub cottage cheese for ricotta, added feta & used less Parmesan, doubled spiced, added fresh jalapeno.) It baked very nicely and had a rich flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had some fresh beet leaves so I replaced the spinache with this. I used 6 eggs and substituted the scallions with a small onion from my garden. I didn't have ricotta on hand so I eliminated it. This was so flavourful I can only imagine how good it would have been if I followed the ingredients to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This recipe rocks. Just added an extra egg white but otherwise followed the recipe. Hubby kept on saying how great this was. Terrific summer recipe. Accompanied with a NY Times recipe of tomato, blue cheese, fig and pine nut salad. With a glass of Sancerrre was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very good. I made this today and I really enjoyed the taste. Only, I forgot the scallions. I'll be making it again with the scallions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was a great easy recipe for lunch. Like other reviewers, I too sauted the onions and mushrooms first before combining the ingredients. Came out so tasty. My picky eaters ate it up and wanted seconds. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used 9 eggs (because I used a 9x9 baking dish), 1 box frozen chopped spinach, some mushrooms, bacon, feta/parm/shredded cheeses. I had to cook a little longer so that the eggs weren't runny. Def gonna make this again but with more bacon and half the spinach (whole pkg was spinach overload, and this is coming from someone who loves spinach) **update** after making this 3 different times, the secret seems to be bacon, and some chopped up fresh spinach (not frozen). I forgot to get bacon last time and it turned out too dry with just egg/spinach/sauteed mushrooms. Sauteeing the shrooms was overkill and botched the flavor as well. Cook a bunch of bacon, then chop it and use lots of cheddar cheese for best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was great. Just made this based on what I had. I used fresh spinach 12oz that I wilted. I also used 1 cup of egg whites and added 1 additonal egg. I didnt have ricotta so used 1 cup of 2% cottage cheese and used less parmesan and added some fat free feta. Everything else remained the same but added 3 slices of turkey bacon crumbled. This was really good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was delicious! I used fresh spinach, fat free cottage cheese, cheddar cheese, white onion, and I used 1/4 teaspoon each of garlic, basil, and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Excellent! A healthy option to a quiche with crust. I used an entire bag of fresh spinach, sauteed the spinach with about five scallions, a dozen sliced mushrooms, dried thyme, rosemary and parsley, in garlic-flavored olive oil and a bit of butter spray, then mixed that with the beaten eggs (I used 6), crumbled blue cheese, some mozzarella and a bit of milk, put the whole mess in a glass pie pan and baked at 375 for 30 minutes. Was delicious! Perfect vegetarian brunch, and would be even better with some crumbled cooked bacon or even cooked shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Just made this, and it was BETTER than I imagined! Recommend a frittata pan. I can't say that I measured - just put in the amounts I liked. I of course, sauted the yellow onion and mushroom before hand. Add green onions as directed and a bit of NUTMEG as suggested by another reviewer. Will have guests over for this one - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States