Spinach and Mushroom Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I used fresh spinach, after washing just make sure you squeeze out all the water. I loved the flavor but my daughter thought it had too much spinach. May have been my fault, may have added more than asked for. I don't know what people were talking about being bland, I thought it had great flavor. Next time I think I'll just slice the mushrooms instead of chopping. That way you can taste the mushrooms more, it was hard for us to taste them. I did use white button mushrooms. There is a lot you can do with this base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Over the past few months, I have tried this recipe as directed and with many alterations. It is a great 'basic' recipe. Try ham, turkey sausage, sour cream, cream cheese or cheddar cheese, broccoli, substitute bacon cooked with a little Worcestershire sauce. It's great. I use an oblong baking dish that has a cover, take out the portions needed for the day and return to the frig for the next day. It's great reheated in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe except for the fact that I added mozzarella on top as one reviewer suggested and I used fresh herbs from my garden instead of dried. Served with salad and pinot noir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Would be really good with tomatoes. Also, I used fresh spinach and cooked it and the mushrooms down. Also, some fresh basil or cilantro would help with seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was good, made exactly as written, maybe a little bland, possibly I didn't season enough, but I will certainly try again, it was a great start, might add some zucchini or shredded carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This is super delicious! I sautéed the mushrooms, onions and spinach (fresh, not frozen). I also added basil, oregano, thyme (all dried) along with salt and pepper. I omitted the parmesan cheese and used cottage cheese instead of the ricotta. It was so good, I would make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I added more mushrooms and pressed a clove of garlic in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Great recipe, however I did play with it based on the ingredients I had on hand. In lieu of ricotta, I used a 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt and a 1/4 cup milk. Instead of spinach, I had red and green bell peppers on hand, so I added those along with the scallions and mushrooms. I had mild cheddar on hand, so used that instead of the parmesan. Finally, I added crushed up corn tortillas to the bottom of the pie pan before pouring in the egg mixture, to give it a density and "crust." Yummy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
A heartfelt WOW! I made this frittata yesterday and, as usual, couldn't make it totally by the recipe - I had to modify it, so used 2C of baby bellas, about 3/4C scallions, whole milk ricotta, 1-1/2 tsp (coffee spoon, not measuring spoon) of Hoisin sauce (though I don't know why - just thought I'd put it in there), 1/4 meas. spoon of crushed red pepper and a layer of Chipotle Turkey (from the deli) at the halfway point of pouring into my 9.5" quiche pan, overlapping as I went, finished pouring mixture, then topped with more parmesan. Everything else was according to the recipe. OMG - One husband, one SIL and me and it was GONE!! Super good and will make again. Thanx for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States