Spinach and Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I am giving this 3 stars because it helped me develop my own great recipe. This was a good concept but I changed it quite a bit. First, I wilted 3 8oz. bags of baby spinach adding no butter or oil, put in strainer and pressed water out. Then I sauted 8oz. sliced mushrooms with the 1/2 onion called for, added 1 minced garlic clove the juice of 1/2 a lemon and a few drops of worcestershire sauce (last 2 ingredients were suggested in one of the reviews I read). Mixed spinach into mushroom mixture. Put in casserole dish and topped with the cheese. I did not use any butter and only a tiny bit of olive oil with the mushrooms! It still was a little greasy I guess from the cheese. But the flavor was fabulous. Next time I will omit the cheese called for and just sprinkle with parm-regg. Thanks for the base recipe but I can't imagine all that butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
As written, this recipe had flaws which, even making changes, only made this an ordinary dish. Too much butter, so I adjusted for that. No seasoning, so I added some garlic. Also, I didn't see the need to cook the spinach separately from the mushrooms--a pointless extra step that just takes more time and dirties an extra pan. I just cooked the mushrooms, onion and garlic first, then added the spinach to the same pan--and frankly, I should have left it at that and stopped there. Finally, other than to melt a mild cheese (I also adjusted for that by using a sun-dried tomato/basil cheddar) I don't see what the purpose is of placing already cooked spinach in the oven--except to overcook it. This has potential, I guess, with a pretty major overhaul, but as written it's just not that great a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Loved this because, I sauteed the onions with 1 clove of garlic in 2TB of butter set aside..I sauteed mushroom in 2TB butter and sprinkled a little lemon juice and worchestire sauce on them..Great steak sidedish..Thank you :^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Really loved it, but like everyone else, I made changes. First, I halved it which was perfect for just me and leftovers (someone suggested serving it with shrimp over rice, which I plan to try b/c it was so good). I also took others advice and just sauteed the mushrooms, onions, and spinach in the same pan with a light layer of cooking spray instead of butter. I didn't remove the stems (it seemed like a waste of time and still tasted fine). I added a splach of worchesterchire and lemon juice before putting it in the dish to bake. Instead of cheddar, which I think would overpower the flavor of the veggies, I used a small amount of swiss and covered the rest in an italian blend of romano, parm, mozz, and guyer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This recipe was a little too salty and greasy for me. The flavor of the mushrooms and spinach together was really good. Next time I think I will use about half the salt and velveeta instead of cheddar. I think that will help cut down on the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This is fantastic! My family flipped over this recipe. We'll definitely be making it often. I altered it a little based on the reviews. I used more cheese and less butter. Next time, I won't use any butter. I also skipped the salt entirely and threw in a little lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce based on a previous suggestion. I love it! Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This dish was very flavorful, but it was really greasy. It would be great served on brushetta. I just couldn't handle all the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
this was very good. I used a small dash only of salt and it was fine. I also omitted butter and did a light drizzle of olive oil instead. I don't think this dish needs any butter anyway due to getting enough oil from the melted cheese. If you LOVE onions to death like I do plus are a spinach fan then you should be amazed at how great this tastes. I really took a bite of it and said out loud, "this is good!" great recipe -- the flavor beats your expectations because it was just too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I really wanted to love this recipe. These are some of my all time favorite foods so I started with strong positive bias. Alas, it just tasted like spinach, mushrooms, onions and cheese. Sure, I know that's what it is, but I was hoping for that magical transformation when a combination transcends its ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I brought this to a potluck, and everyone wanted the recipe (even some of the non-cooks, since it was so simple). I used 2 packages of frozen leaf spinach instead of fresh as suggested by another reviewer, added garlic powder, and didn't bother to cook the mushrooms first (though this releases quite a bit of liquid). Also, I definitely think it's better with Swiss cheese than cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States