Spinach and Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I prepared this the same way 'mattsbelly' did (Sept. 07) and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I added a pound of cooked baby shrimp to the casserole and used a little less cheese. Served on top of cooked pasta, it reminds me of Macaroni Grill's Shrimp Portafino without the pine nuts. Will make it again with pasta to absorb the butter and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
As written, this recipe had flaws which, even making changes, only made this an ordinary dish. Too much butter, so I adjusted for that. No seasoning, so I added some garlic. Also, I didn't see the need to cook the spinach separately from the mushrooms--a pointless extra step that just takes more time and dirties an extra pan. I just cooked the mushrooms, onion and garlic first, then added the spinach to the same pan--and frankly, I should have left it at that and stopped there. Finally, other than to melt a mild cheese (I also adjusted for that by using a sun-dried tomato/basil cheddar) I don't see what the purpose is of placing already cooked spinach in the oven--except to overcook it. This has potential, I guess, with a pretty major overhaul, but as written it's just not that great a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I served this last night and it was a hit. I did a few things differently, probably like other reviewer - I did not read them all. I used 2 bunches of fresh spinach, which I wilted and squeezed to remove water. Then I sautéed the mushrooms together with the onions and some garlic. I cut back the butter poured over the spinach to 2TBL and next time, I will cut it again or perhaps leave it out all together. I think the cheese adds enough flavor that all that butter is just not needed. Above all, this is easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I originally made this in October and it turned out great. Everyone loved it. It was a little watery so you just need to make sure the spinach is well drained. Will be making this again for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I sauteed fresh garlic and used a lot less butter than the recipe called for. It is a very good side dish but I would like to find a way to get some of the grease out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I am giving this 3 stars because it helped me develop my own great recipe. This was a good concept but I changed it quite a bit. First, I wilted 3 8oz. bags of baby spinach adding no butter or oil, put in strainer and pressed water out. Then I sauted 8oz. sliced mushrooms with the 1/2 onion called for, added 1 minced garlic clove the juice of 1/2 a lemon and a few drops of worcestershire sauce (last 2 ingredients were suggested in one of the reviews I read). Mixed spinach into mushroom mixture. Put in casserole dish and topped with the cheese. I did not use any butter and only a tiny bit of olive oil with the mushrooms! It still was a little greasy I guess from the cheese. But the flavor was fabulous. Next time I will omit the cheese called for and just sprinkle with parm-regg. Thanks for the base recipe but I can't imagine all that butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is not only an easy recipe to do, it is very tasty as well. I cooked it for a dinner party and my guests raved over it. It goes well as a side dish with any meal, and I plan on serving it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was good but a little on the salty side. I didn't bake it with the butter to make it a little more on the healthy side. I will make again but eliminate the salt and saute the mushrooms with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I loved this!! My husband isn't crazy about spinach, which was great because i got to eat the entire dish myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States