Spinach and Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The recipe as posted is a good combination of flavors but seemed cumbersome -- I followed suggestions offered by Mattsbelly & others and then added a bit of leftover cubed pork loin roast to make it more of a main dish -- mixed some grated asiago into cheddar topping -- quite tasty. Thanks to everyone providing reviews -- very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used swiss cheese topping and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This just didn't taste very good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
great recipe to develop yours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Really loved it, but like everyone else, I made changes. First, I halved it which was perfect for just me and leftovers (someone suggested serving it with shrimp over rice, which I plan to try b/c it was so good). I also took others advice and just sauteed the mushrooms, onions, and spinach in the same pan with a light layer of cooking spray instead of butter. I didn't remove the stems (it seemed like a waste of time and still tasted fine). I added a splach of worchesterchire and lemon juice before putting it in the dish to bake. Instead of cheddar, which I think would overpower the flavor of the veggies, I used a small amount of swiss and covered the rest in an italian blend of romano, parm, mozz, and guyer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
By itself this wasn't anything noteworthy, but the next day I used the leftovers on top of rice and that was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was super easy and super good! Although I thought my big bag of spinach was more than enough, it was only 12oz. But I like mushrooms, so I just went for it. I can't eat cheddar, so I topped mine with thin slices of Swiss cheese. I also sauteed the onions and a clove of garlic with the shrooms. My wonderful husband said it was "magnificent". I will be making this again, perhaps with the proper amount of spinach. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My family and I all really loved this recipe! I didn't put the 4 TBLS of melted butter in it and also I didn't have enough cheddar cheese so I used half mozzarella...it turned out wonderful. It wasn't greasy like some others said about theirs. I think next time I'll add some cut up chicken breast to it.Its a keeper for us! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
It's a very good dish but definitely, should be eaten as soon as it is done. Thanks for the contributions people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States