Spinach and Mushroom Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The recipe as posted is a good combination of flavors but seemed cumbersome -- I followed suggestions offered by Mattsbelly & others and then added a bit of leftover cubed pork loin roast to make it more of a main dish -- mixed some grated asiago into cheddar topping -- quite tasty. Thanks to everyone providing reviews -- very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used swiss cheese topping and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This just didn't taste very good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
great recipe to develop yours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Really loved it, but like everyone else, I made changes. First, I halved it which was perfect for just me and leftovers (someone suggested serving it with shrimp over rice, which I plan to try b/c it was so good). I also took others advice and just sauteed the mushrooms, onions, and spinach in the same pan with a light layer of cooking spray instead of butter. I didn't remove the stems (it seemed like a waste of time and still tasted fine). I added a splach of worchesterchire and lemon juice before putting it in the dish to bake. Instead of cheddar, which I think would overpower the flavor of the veggies, I used a small amount of swiss and covered the rest in an italian blend of romano, parm, mozz, and guyer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
By itself this wasn't anything noteworthy, but the next day I used the leftovers on top of rice and that was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was super easy and super good! Although I thought my big bag of spinach was more than enough, it was only 12oz. But I like mushrooms, so I just went for it. I can't eat cheddar, so I topped mine with thin slices of Swiss cheese. I also sauteed the onions and a clove of garlic with the shrooms. My wonderful husband said it was "magnificent". I will be making this again, perhaps with the proper amount of spinach. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My family and I all really loved this recipe! I didn't put the 4 TBLS of melted butter in it and also I didn't have enough cheddar cheese so I used half mozzarella...it turned out wonderful. It wasn't greasy like some others said about theirs. I think next time I'll add some cut up chicken breast to it.Its a keeper for us! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
It's a very good dish but definitely, should be eaten as soon as it is done. Thanks for the contributions people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States