Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Delicious and easy soup. Great for vegetarians, like me, when you use vegetable broth. Two suggestions: If you are a lemon lover like me, squeezing a wedge of lemon into your soup or floating a lemon slice on top a=can make a good thing even better. Also, if you aren't going to use all the soup at once, instead of putting the spinch into the pot with the rest of the soup, just put a portion into the bottom of the bowl and pur your hot soup on top. Spinach cooks pretty well instantly, and you will be saved from having slimy spinch leaves when you reheat the leftovers. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Our soup prepared as per recipe was very bland! My wife however rescued it by adding crushed tomatoes and green chili peppers ...one 28oz can of tomatoes and one 4 oz can of green chilies.....that did the trick and we are enjoying the result...now ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Great recipe! I modified the recipe with one can of beans, a 10 oz package of frozen spinach, and three leeks. Two cans of beans was overwhelming, and I don't usually have fresh spinach on hand. Also, I put everything in a slow cooker on high for about four or five hours and served it with grated Parmesan cheese and a slice of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I've made this soup many times and it always turns out great. I do add an extra can of chicken broth which keeps it from getting too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I went with what was suggested by other reviewers and substituted the cumin for rosemary and thyme and left out the couscous. I also substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth as a personal preference. This has become a quick favorite of mine - cheap, easy, healthy, and vegetarian. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
my husband and i are definitely NOT vegetarians, but we were both sick and i needed to make something out of what i had on hand. we were suprised to find that this soup really hit the spot. we had slices of crusty bread and butter on the side and it was a perfect light dinner. my husband thought it needed more broth because the couscous does soak up some liquid, but i kind of liked it the way it was. i ended up adding more chicken broth for his sake :) also didn't use the whole amount of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
very good. I used rosemary and thyme instead of cumin for a different flavor. I also used the entire leek, not just the bulb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
YUMMY! I messed up and added a BOX of couscous and it turned out like a side dish--a very delicious side dish. Then I added more broth and made it into a soup and it was still good. I also used frozen spinach and it worked well. Anyone having issues with flavor may be using a poor broth. I use Better Than Bouillon Veggie and it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This is delicious. Next time I'll omit the couscous. It doesn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This soup is quick to make and wonderful. My husband and I enjoyed it with a green salad and hot, crusty bread. I didn't make any changes to this aside from using low-sodium chicken broth. It's delicious as left-overs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States