Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a four star recipe with potential to be five stars. I used orzo instead of couscous because I like the texture better. I agree with other raters that there are too many cannelli beans in this. A five star version of this soup is less cannelli beans and more orzo/couscous. As suggested by some raters, I used rosemary/thyme/sage instead of cumin. I also added mushrooms and more garlic. This combination may be the best soup I have ever made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My husband made this and I was not a fan. His version was two stars for me, but I'm giving a three because I'm not sure how closely he followed the recipe. The worst part for me was the bay leaf. It seemed to overpower the other flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was edible but not much more. My husband and I found it barely bland and had to doctor it up at the table quite a bit. Definitely will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I'm not quite sure how my husband will like it, as he is getting home late tonight, but I LOVED THIS! I read several reviews and added frozen instead of fresh spinach, crushed tomatoes, diced tomatoes, a jalapeno pepper (seeds removed), replaced the chicken broth with vegetable, and doubled that. Also doubled the cumin & added salt & pepper to taste. The basics for this recipe are just fantastic - I usually read the reviews to see what other healthy things I can find to add to it successfully. The couscous was a great touch - I think I added a bit too much, but the extra broth made up for it. I am SO excited to take this for lunch - and if Hubs doesn't like it, more for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Hmmm. Not sure why this got such good reviews. I followed the recipe but found it tasteless except for the cumin. Bummer, because I love all the components, it just didn't work with the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was a very good and simple soup. I used navy beans instead of the cannellini beans because that is what I had in my pantry. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I am not sure why some reviewers thought it was bland - I thought is was delicious! I guess everyone's tastes are different. I will be sure to make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used little bow tie pasta instead of couscous. I added about a table spoon of cumin just because I love the taste. I also added a splash of turmeric and it came out wonderful. Boyfriend said it was his favorite soup yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
MMMMMMM I forgot to get couscous, so I made it without. It certainly was great without it! Adding it would have made it a lot thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Tried this recipe because it's so healthy. Unfortunately, I found it a bit too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
It's a keeper! My three-year old even said "I love this soup!" I think the couscous really makes a big difference. We'll be making this soup often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States