Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This yummy soup has become a staple in our home. I crave it when the cold weather sets in. I'll add extra veggies if I have on hand...carrots and mushrooms. I use quinoa instead of couscous for extra nutrients. Great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I took the advice of previous reviewers and revved up the 'heat' a bit with 1/2 t. of flaked red peppers. Also used froz. spinach and replaced couscous with quinoa (more fiber). If using quinoa, let it cook in the broth about 15 min. before adding beans. I also added an extra can of LOW SODIUM chicken broth, as we like more of a soup rather stew-like consistency. Used 2 whole leeks. I'd do this again, using onions rather than leeks (as onions are cheaper in my area.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Love this soup! Hearty, healthy and great leftover. I added another can of stock. I also added red pepper flakes and a dash of paprika to give it more of a kick. Instead of whole wheat cous cous, I used 1 cup (hence the need for more broth) of the Harvest Grains blend from Trader Joe's which has Israeli Cous Cous, Orzo, Baby Garbanzo Beans and Red Quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very tasty and nutritious. We had this with crusty french bread and an olive oil/balsamic vinegar dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Yum! I used 32 oz of chicken broth, 1 bay leaf, seasonings, garlic powder...thats what I had on hand... and 1 whole leek. Also, I used frozen Spinach too. For the noodles I used Ditalini. You might want to save the bean broth instead of draining it, I found that it needed a little more broth than I used. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Made it exactly. Very good. Very quick and easy. My kids even liked it. My 9 yr old thought it tasted like white chili....(kind of). If you don't eat it right away you will need to add more broth. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was very good soup. I did make a few changes. First, I sweated the leeks and garlic over very low heat in a covered pan with a few hot pepper flakes for a few minutes. I squeezed the innards out of one fresh Italian sausage, crumbled and browned it and added it with the broth and beans. I used barley instead of coucous, so I had to simmer the soup for about 30 minutes before adding the spinach. We really enjoyed this. Thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I have made a soup similar to this praticular recipe and because my husband is such a meat eater I ended up adding smoked sausage to the recipe and a few extra spices and seasonings just for our taste. Instead of leeks, i used regular green onions, they taste just the same and are much cheaper and easier to find than leeks. I would also substitute the cannellini beans for great northern beans just because I'm a northerner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Very nice! I read reviews and added an extra can of chicken broth. Used great northern beans, a chopped chicken breast, several squeezes of lemon and a dash of red pepper flakes. Loved the couscous. A nice, hearty soup. Oh- also mashed some of the beans against the side of the pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is an excellent vegetarian dish. I made it exactly as directed (next time I will double the broth) except I used fresh canellini beans that I had cooked previously and froze in 16 oz packages and boxed chicken broth instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovin' Life Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States