Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Yum! I used 32 oz of chicken broth, 1 bay leaf, seasonings, garlic powder...thats what I had on hand... and 1 whole leek. Also, I used frozen Spinach too. For the noodles I used Ditalini. You might want to save the bean broth instead of draining it, I found that it needed a little more broth than I used. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Made it exactly. Very good. Very quick and easy. My kids even liked it. My 9 yr old thought it tasted like white chili....(kind of). If you don't eat it right away you will need to add more broth. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was very good soup. I did make a few changes. First, I sweated the leeks and garlic over very low heat in a covered pan with a few hot pepper flakes for a few minutes. I squeezed the innards out of one fresh Italian sausage, crumbled and browned it and added it with the broth and beans. I used barley instead of coucous, so I had to simmer the soup for about 30 minutes before adding the spinach. We really enjoyed this. Thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I have made a soup similar to this praticular recipe and because my husband is such a meat eater I ended up adding smoked sausage to the recipe and a few extra spices and seasonings just for our taste. Instead of leeks, i used regular green onions, they taste just the same and are much cheaper and easier to find than leeks. I would also substitute the cannellini beans for great northern beans just because I'm a northerner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Very nice! I read reviews and added an extra can of chicken broth. Used great northern beans, a chopped chicken breast, several squeezes of lemon and a dash of red pepper flakes. Loved the couscous. A nice, hearty soup. Oh- also mashed some of the beans against the side of the pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is an excellent vegetarian dish. I made it exactly as directed (next time I will double the broth) except I used fresh canellini beans that I had cooked previously and froze in 16 oz packages and boxed chicken broth instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovin' Life Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was very good and surprisingly filling. I made for company and everyone enjoyed it. Maybe could have used more broth - I may double the broth next time. Other than that - yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is fantastic!!! I can't add anything else. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Driscoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Excellent Soup. I followed the Directions exactly as is and was very happy with the results. If you haven't made it yet, I would suggest following recipe as is before changing anything. The only thing I would change would be in doubling the recipe and freezing some in containers for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Excellent! I also added rosemary, thyme, and the leek stalks. I also added about 1 can of water as well to offset the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States