Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I liked it/didn't love it. Since it was just "okay" for me I won't recycle this one. I have other bean soups I already have/like better. Not really sure why/nothing contractive to add......just overall flavor didn't rock my boat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was fair...however, I used onions instead of leeks, added mushrooms, and did not use the couscous (wheat allergy), so I guess I can't really give it a true rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made as written - great soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This yummy soup has become a staple in our home. I crave it when the cold weather sets in. I'll add extra veggies if I have on hand...carrots and mushrooms. I use quinoa instead of couscous for extra nutrients. Great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I took the advice of previous reviewers and revved up the 'heat' a bit with 1/2 t. of flaked red peppers. Also used froz. spinach and replaced couscous with quinoa (more fiber). If using quinoa, let it cook in the broth about 15 min. before adding beans. I also added an extra can of LOW SODIUM chicken broth, as we like more of a soup rather stew-like consistency. Used 2 whole leeks. I'd do this again, using onions rather than leeks (as onions are cheaper in my area.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Love this soup! Hearty, healthy and great leftover. I added another can of stock. I also added red pepper flakes and a dash of paprika to give it more of a kick. Instead of whole wheat cous cous, I used 1 cup (hence the need for more broth) of the Harvest Grains blend from Trader Joe's which has Israeli Cous Cous, Orzo, Baby Garbanzo Beans and Red Quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very tasty and nutritious. We had this with crusty french bread and an olive oil/balsamic vinegar dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Yum! I used 32 oz of chicken broth, 1 bay leaf, seasonings, garlic powder...thats what I had on hand... and 1 whole leek. Also, I used frozen Spinach too. For the noodles I used Ditalini. You might want to save the bean broth instead of draining it, I found that it needed a little more broth than I used. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Made it exactly. Very good. Very quick and easy. My kids even liked it. My 9 yr old thought it tasted like white chili....(kind of). If you don't eat it right away you will need to add more broth. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was very good soup. I did make a few changes. First, I sweated the leeks and garlic over very low heat in a covered pan with a few hot pepper flakes for a few minutes. I squeezed the innards out of one fresh Italian sausage, crumbled and browned it and added it with the broth and beans. I used barley instead of coucous, so I had to simmer the soup for about 30 minutes before adding the spinach. We really enjoyed this. Thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States