Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This soup was amazing! I used quinoa instead of couscous, which gave it a very distinct taste. I also added some thyme, tarragon, and a little savory. I barely used cumin, just a sprinkle. The soup had a more savory taste than an ethnic taste. This soup was really very good! So light, simple, healthy, but filling. Definitely will be making this a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena Natalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! Just my type of soup. I will make this again and again. I did add more garlic and more broth but not because there is anything wrong with this recipe, just my taste. Thanks for a new favorite. I take soup to work almost everyday in the winter and I am always looking for new ideas. Next time I will double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Loved this! We, too, used the rosemary and thyme in place of the cumin. Omitted the couscous all together. I ended up putting a small spoonful of plain greek yogurt in my bowl, which gave it a creamy yet tangy flavor! So easy and fast - this one will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This soup was wonderful and easy! As they say in Italy, "Buonissima!" The only adjustment that I had to make was to add more liquid. I would say 2 more cups of water makes it go a little bit further, which is a good thing considering that my family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I added some tumeric and serve it with lemon juice. I also added quinoa to make it heartier...really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have made this soup for the last three years. It is excellent. I do add more garlic and a bit more broth. I've even reduced the broth and made side dish out of the soup. Some reviews have called it bland. The soup is a bit subtle, but does have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this soup! It is so delicious and very QUICK and easy to make! I substituted one tsp. of poultry seasoning for the cumin and used only one can of beans. Perfection! Next time I'll double the recipe since my husband and I ate almost the whole batch in one sitting. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
quick, easy, yummy, one pot, love it.....did not add cummin as i had none and used garlic powder in place of cloves...used orzo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I added half as much couscous and added one strip of well done bacon. Finished off with a squeese of lemon, a grind of black pepper and thought it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
All of my favorite ingredients but no flavor. Wanted to like it but not very good....sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hurley Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States