Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is good soup! The key is to use your favorite broth. We love vegetable bouillon so used 2 Liters water and enough bouillon to make it noticeably salty, plus a can of chopped tomatoes, since we love that in soup. Frozen spinach works fine. Just add it before boiling the water. When the water is boiling, then add the couscous (or little pasta Soup Stars or Orzo), and the spinach will be cooked by the time the pasta is cooked (5-8 minutes.) I also used less cumin but more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
For a bean soup, this came out pretty good!..simple to whip up, and healthy too! I think the more I make this recipe I wont need the recipe in front of me to make...I wanted to add more zest to this soup...I think next time I might add another teaspoon of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Really great and healthy, used vegetable broth and used this as my "meatless monday" dinner. I have been dieting and this soup was just what I had hoped it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was reallly good, and I felt so healthy eating it. I ended up using more chicken broth because mine looked really thick, but that was an easy fix. Also, I added a little more spice to mine with chilli powder. So easy to add whatever spices you like. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALonis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
We absolutely loved this dish. Made it just as the recipe states, but only used 3 leeks and included some of the stalks and not just the bulb. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
My family LOVES this recipe. We use wheat couscous in our soups often. It's also good with sausage links, grilled and sliced, in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was pretty good but it's not something I'd crave or make again necessarily. I followed the recipe exactly. Once dished up, I added some crushed red pepper to mine. I also think it would be good with some Parmesan cheese or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Really good. I used better than bouillon veggie base and quinoa instead of couscous. Could have left the grain out without harming the soup. I used whole bag of spinach. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p. smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Added 2 green chiles (diced) and a few shakes of tobasco for a little extra flavor. I also added a pinch of corn starch to thicken just a little, since I didn't use cous cous. Because of others' comments, I substituted rosemary for cumin. Super easy, inexpensive, and very delicious! Definitely will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
A little less leek, a little less couscous, don't be shy with the salt and pepper, and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States