Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Julia  Garreaud
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Wonderfully healthy! Which more than compensates for it's blandness and you just feel so good eating this! I added more leeks and have made this with barley as well. I really enjoyed this soup. It's colorful too. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This soup is so delicious! The ingredients make such a great combination...white beans, leaks, spinach, couscous...so good! Perfect on a cold winter day. My husband loved it, too. At first I thought it was going to be too light, but it was very filling. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bell
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I don't know how anyone could call this soup bland it was absolutely delicious. I am definitely making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent soup for a quck homey dinner. Found the flavors to be delicate and nicely combined. Did not add anything to the base recipe. Recomend serving with a strong flavored salad with feta and some herbed or peppery crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
The soup smells delicious, looks beautiful and, as my husband said, "tastes alright." Maybe if we'd used the vegetable stock as recommended it would have been better. The suggestion to add the spinach to each bowl just before serving was a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Delicious! Husband and I fought over the leftovers. Stuck to the recipe. Very easy to make and ingredients that you find in anyone's kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Sorry, but this was bland. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't yummy. I'd use some other spice other than cumin. My husband added a 1/2 t of garlic/chili sauce to his serving. However, as the kids and I didn't care for this, he's going to be having this for lunch 3 more times :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Just OK in our opinion. Healthy, yes. I did not have whole wheat couscous--don't know if that would give better flavor. Will finish this up, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
cumin is actually subtle in this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I really liked this soup. It was quick and easy to make. I ended up having to add some more chicken broth because the couscous sucked up a lot of the liquid, so next time I will halve the couscous. Some people have said it is bland, but I disagree. I added a little pepper at the end, but not a whole lot. I think the chicken broth gets it salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States