Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Bland,had to add alot of other seasoning to get any flavor,the main flavor came with the box of couscous,I used garlic. To much beans,the couscous soaks up all the "soup" after 10 mins, doesn't make a good take to work meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Lltjackson
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Very filling...i did not use couscous and used unsalted butter instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I made this soup for the first time last night and we loved it! I used other peoples' reviews as a guide to tweak it, such as using a lot more of the leeks than just the bulb, removing maybe a third off the top and removing the outer leaves and adding extra chicken broth (maybe 2 cups or so). One of the cans of cannelini (sp?) beans had seasoning of sage and rosemary and the other was just plain. I agonized over the choice of either using rosemary & thyme or cumin and finally decided on the cumin - and I'm glad I did. I also added some garlic salt and garlic powder and onion powder - not a lot, just sprinkled some in the pot for a little extra flavor. I followed another reviewer's idea of placing the baby spinach leaves on the bottom of the soup bowls and then adding the soup on top. Lastly, I grated some parmesan cheese to add to the top, which really added to the flavor overall. I was actually amazed at how delicious it turned out! This one is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Allen Fries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very easy and tasty! I Added a bit of white wine (because I was drinking some) and used quinoa instead of couscous pasta (as I didn't have couscous like I thought). Turned out to have a really nice texture. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is a staple in our house! I use quinoa instead of couscous, and add extra broth and it's perfection! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Nice "pure" soup. I used swisscard instead of spinach. I also took about a cup of the rinsed and drained beans and about a cup of the leek/broth from the pot and pureed in a mini choper and then added it to the pot for a creamy texture. I left out the "pasta" product of orzo (since I did not have couscous) until the next day to cook when we were ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
A good idea however too bland, re-seasoned with chipotle power, crushed red Chile and substituted seasoned whole brown rice. Thought about whole tomatoes...next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Whiting, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Just made this (my first time ever using leeks so I found it to be very interesting) however I did substitute cream of chicken soup for half of the broth, and added crushed red pepper because as some others noticed, it was a bit bland. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a very delicious, filling recipe. Next time I will use a little less couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Delicious every time! So easy and a fam fave. Make sure to get high quality broth- it makes a big difference. Also, if not salted properly, can be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States