Spinach and Goat Cheese Salad with Beetroot Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
A party in my mouth! and my husband loved it too! perfecto! would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My guests LOVED this and so did I. I would make this again just to take to work. I would suggest making the dressing in a food processor (if you have one). I made it in my blender and it was fine but hard to get out of the bottom of the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was very good and a nice change of pace from some of the regulars we always have. Not to mention very easy to throw together. Who knew the combination of ingredients (chicken bouillon?!? with pickled beets?) in the dressing could result in such a tasty vinaigrette. I made a few changes to the salad part because all I had was feta and blue cheese....hubby had the feta and I had the blue cheese....we liked both! I also didn't caramelize my walnuts---didn't want the added sugar. Again, thought the raw walnuts where just as good. However, I'm sure the original recipe would even be better with farmers cheese and caramelized walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
changed it by mixing spinach and arugula for the greens and feta for the cheese. Though it was hot pink in the end, the salad was wonderful and I got TONS of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Simply Fantastico! So healthy, so tasty. Didn't have baby spinach, so blanched regular spinach for 2-3 minutes instead. Also, replaced goatcheese with feta. Was quick, light and healthy. Thoroughly recommend it to all. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pune, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Served this recipe to my family for Thanksgiving in 2009, and they left with the recipe in hand! Everyone loved the texture and taste, and thought I was a gourmet chef after serving it! I'm not sure about other cooks, but I like to use a little dressing first on a salad, then add more if necessary. I saved the extra dressing for later on any salad! This is a keeper for guests and special occasions, and as I write this review, I am sending it on to someone who asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This tasted like a salad you might be lucky enough to get in a five satar restaurant. It was a wonderful start to my Christmas dinner! I took others's advice and used non-stick sray to coat the walnuts and the sugar stuck to them nicely. I was diligent about stirring them in the pot, but I made one big mistake. After the walnuts were to my liking, I removed them from the heat and put them aside for a few minutes to make sure my spinach was totally dry. Within only those few minutes, the bottom layer of walnuts had become stuck and burnt to the pot. I had plenty to complete the salad, but cleanup was horrible. Keep in mind that I had even used the non-stick spray. The walnuts need to be removed from the pot ASAP. I'm afraid with all the Christmas commotion, I also forgot to add the goat cheese. It was still so very delicious. I can't wait to try it with the goat cheese on the leftovers tonight. This salad was fabulous and the odd pinkish color of the dressing made it one of the highlights of my Christmas dinner. Thank you so very much for posting this recipe! It is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
A funny salad, and yes, I agree, there was way too much dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Sorry but I didn't like this salad, I do like beets, but the taste of the dressing wasn't for me. Sorry again, but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I love this salad. It is a wonderful blend of flavors. I did use a bit of the beet juice in the dressing to thin it out. The second time I made it, I added some Granny Smith Apples just for an extra flavor and crunch. It was great with and without the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States