Spinach and Feta Pita Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Never thought I'd be one of those reviewers who would say "if I could give this 10 stars, I would"...but now I am!!! My only substitution was grilled chopped marinated chicken in place of the mushrooms. I used a whole wheat pita, fresh picked roma's and a sprinkling of shredded mozzarella after baking. I've made *hundreds* of recipes from this site and this is now my favorite....so far ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I have been making variations on this for years. Great with plain pesto; I use sundried tomatoes which are great, and often add artichokes and sweet red peppers too. It's so quick and easy and always a hit, both as a meal and as an appetizer. You can also make it with a tortilla base. It helps to bake the base a few minutes before putting on the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I made this exactly according to the recipe (probably a first for me). It turned out perfectly. Everyone loved it - even the kids ate it, and didn't even pick off the mushrooms! You really need to pile the spinach on - it will look quite high - but it wilts and condenses a lot. My only suggestion would be to change the name - something like "Grilled Flatbread with Spinach and Feta" has a cooler name that captures the Mediterranean feel of this recipe a lot better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
We didn't have roasted tomato pesto, so we substituted regular pesto for it, and added bottled roasted tomatoes and it still came out great. Excellent recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Hercules, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Delicious. The recipe doesn't tell you what to do with the tomatoes, so I just added them after the spinach but before the cheese. Go very heavy on the spinach; it shrinks up a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Loved them! I had to use regular pesto and could only get onion pitas--bad day at the grocery store. We ate these for dinner and agreed they're a definite make again. There's room for a lot of experimentation, too. If you turn the pitas upside down, it makes a little bowl that helps to keep all the toppings in. Makes the crust crispy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Very nice my family enjoyed. it was both fun and easy to make! if you put the pita in for 17 minutes it becomes crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I used 5 pieces of whole wheat flat bread instead of pita bread. The bake time was just a little less. I thought they were a bit rich but still great! Use less of the sun-dried tomato pesto and a little less feta if you don't want them so rich. Great lunch with a side of fruit or as just a appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InTheDesert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I only had half a jar of sun-dried tomato pesto so I made some with that and some with regular pesto. Awesome either way but the sun dried tomato stuff turned out way better. I also omitted the mushrooms because it just didn't sound too good. Regardless, an awesome recipe that I will definitely be making again. My roommate and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
These came out very well! I didn't modify them much at all, sticking to the straight recipe except for throwing on a little extra shredded romano I had laying around. For 5 minute 'pizzas' they were definitely a crowd-pleaser, eaten up by a table of hungry guys in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States