Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
It was alright-not one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
very good, but I would like to keep looking. Though, my biggest complaint was the sauce. Maybe next time try it with MY spaghetti sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I made some slight changes and these were delicious. It was only me and my husband and so I halved the recipe. Instead of plain parmesan I used the shredded Italian cheese mix. I used 1 tsp ground fennel and 3 cloves garlic. I still spread 1/2 cup sauce in the dish before putting the shells in. I removed the foil the last 10 mins of baking. My picky 2 year old ate this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
For me (a seasoned gourmet cook), the filling needed more fennel and basil. I would double the basil and add another TBSP of fennel....which I ground. I released all of the water from the spinach and I believe that made the filling too dry. A little moisture in the spinach may have made it easier to mix. Bake it only 30 minutes or the shells begin to dry out. And choose a sauce your really enjoy as that can really enhance the recipe. I used vodka sauce, but think that next time I would use a sauce that is more garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yummy!! I changed the original recipe a bit to the ingredients I had on hand. Made my own spaghetti sauce, added 1 egg,1c. mozzerella and 1c. of cottage cheese to the ricotta cheese mixture. I also used a bag of fresh baby spinach (finely chopped) and sauteed it with chopped onion and about four cloves of garlic in olive oil. I also only used 1 tbl. of fennel. I only cooked the shells 5 min. as someone else said. Came out great.My husband loved it. I will definitely will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was good, but needed a little heat. I used fresh spinach rather than frozen. Next time I will add some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alska Du
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner. I made it for "4" servings instead of 6 because I didn't have that many shells. I added an extra teaspoon of fennel seeds .. and I added extra sauce as I like saucy shells and sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top. Came out excellent! I will be making it again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I felt this meal was average. It needed something to give the dish an extra kick. Maybe spicy sausage or beef added. I don't think I'll make this again, but it was fun to make...stuffing the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janafay25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made this recipe with FRESH spinach and FRESH basil that I chopped in the food processor and mixed with ricotta, LOTS of garlic, and Parmesan cheese (I didn't have fennel seed on hand). I boiled the shells for 5 minutes and they were perfect to fill without cracking. I topped with fresh grated mozzarella, tomato basil sauce and more Parmesan. Absolutely delish! I think using all fresh ingredients really makes a big difference. I made it a second time for a girls night and everyone loved it, and all my vegetarian friends were really happy to have something good to eat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassieFlip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paradise, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I used the fennel called for in the recipe and didn't find it too strong...it added just the right amount of depth to the taste. I did use a spicier spaghetti sauce and added some red pepper, so perhaps that balanced it out a bit. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gretna, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States