Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I threw in a handful of mozzarella too. I used a sun dried tomato pesto vs regular spaghetti sauce. My husband had 3 servings. Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe as it is written, came out great. I have made this several times, always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
OH My gosh, was this recipe delicious! Adaptable and customizable too. I made the recipe as listed except I didn't have fennel. I used fresh spinach, cooked down and stuck it in to the food processor with the ricotta, parmesan and whole cloves of garlic. Easy peasy! I scooped the processed filling into a ziploc bag and cut off the corner. Piped the filling into the shells. SO tasty and my fiancee was completely in heaven. Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The fennel absolutely overpowered the flavor of this dish. If I were to make it again I would omit the fennel and possibly add sautéed onion or some other spice for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
It needed more ricotta and less spinach. It's a good start....but needs definite tweaking. I'd probably use fresh spinach too instead of the frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I really liked it but the reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I felt that it calls for too much garlic. I love garlic but it overpowered all the other flavors and mainly just tasted like garlic. Next time I would add one maybe two cloves at most, not four. Also I added mozzarella and cottage cheese and put mozzarella on top. Will make again and cut down on the garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This turned out great! I used 2 cups of cottage cheese (don't like ricotta) and used canned spinach drained and pressed super good in a strainer. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
A little too much basil and though I halved the spinach, it still seemed a bit much. Not quite cheesy enough for me either and I added mozzarella in the stuffing and on top. Go easy on filling the shells also because I wound up with a lot left over. Not bad, but just not my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was really easy to make especially since it was my first time making stuffed shells. I altered it a little bit though. I added cooked ground beef, italian seasonings & mozzarella cheese. I took out the fennel seed, salt and pepper cuz I thought it was just not needed. I did double the recipe for our large family but still only used 10 ounces of spinach and 4 garlic cloves. I think doubling either of those would've been overkill on the finished product. Since this was my first time making these, I wasn't sure how much filling to put in each shell. I think I may have overdone it bc I had quite a few shells left over, but whatever. I'll just use those for an easy lunch for the kids tmrw with sauce. :) With my adjustments, I filled a 9x13 pan and a 10x13 pan. Both were packed with shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewCookinMama
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Me
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very good! A little heavy on the spinach. Could have used more ricotta instead. I notice some pictures show with mozzarella. Totally not needed! My 14 yr old came back for 2nds and said we need to buy spinach more often! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States