Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Easy to make and delicious! I added an egg as suggested and left out the fennel. I used hot breakfast sausage and added it to the sauce. Perfect amount of "zing". I found that only boiling the shells for a few minutes made things a lot easier when filling. Everyone loved this! Been asked to make this for peoples potluck as "their" dish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I liked the fennel seeds, however, I need to use low fat cheeses as I'm trying to lose weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I threw in a handful of mozzarella too. I used a sun dried tomato pesto vs regular spaghetti sauce. My husband had 3 servings. Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe as it is written, came out great. I have made this several times, always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
OH My gosh, was this recipe delicious! Adaptable and customizable too. I made the recipe as listed except I didn't have fennel. I used fresh spinach, cooked down and stuck it in to the food processor with the ricotta, parmesan and whole cloves of garlic. Easy peasy! I scooped the processed filling into a ziploc bag and cut off the corner. Piped the filling into the shells. SO tasty and my fiancee was completely in heaven. Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The fennel absolutely overpowered the flavor of this dish. If I were to make it again I would omit the fennel and possibly add sautéed onion or some other spice for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
It needed more ricotta and less spinach. It's a good start....but needs definite tweaking. I'd probably use fresh spinach too instead of the frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I really liked it but the reason I didn't give 5 stars is because I felt that it calls for too much garlic. I love garlic but it overpowered all the other flavors and mainly just tasted like garlic. Next time I would add one maybe two cloves at most, not four. Also I added mozzarella and cottage cheese and put mozzarella on top. Will make again and cut down on the garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This turned out great! I used 2 cups of cottage cheese (don't like ricotta) and used canned spinach drained and pressed super good in a strainer. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
A little too much basil and though I halved the spinach, it still seemed a bit much. Not quite cheesy enough for me either and I added mozzarella in the stuffing and on top. Go easy on filling the shells also because I wound up with a lot left over. Not bad, but just not my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States