Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I scaled back this recipe to make 3 servings, and we still had a few left over. Yay! Now we have more yumminess to enjoy for another meal. I made a few minor adjustments to the recipe: added one egg, and used about ½ c. shredded mozzarella on the shells before adding the sauce on top. The shells came out looking beautiful- even the MIL complimented me on how they looked picture perfect. One suggestion- I LOVE fennel, but it made a difference ( in a good way) to make the filling before so that the fennel has a chance to mingle and mellow with the other flavors. I think next time I make these will add about ¼ c. chopped pine nuts to the filling. This is certainly a make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I liked it but my family didn't like the fennel (they said it tasted "minty"). Next time will use less fennel, and consider chopping it smaller so you can't feel/taste it as much. Otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I left out the fennel seed and added ground beef. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a very easy recipe that is actually pretty good. I made a few modifications -and next time I will make a few more. I like spinach but the spinach very much overwhelmed the ricotta cheese. Next time I would add 2 containers of ricotta cheese to the 2 packages of spinach. I like the flavor the fenel gives but I really do NOT like biting into a fenel seed! So next time those suckers are getting CRUSHED before I add them! I added minced garlic instead of cloves, and I used more spaghetti sauce than the recipe calls for. I also added mozzarella cheese on the top along with parmesan. Instead of boiling the shells until they are super soft and pliable I soaked them in boiling water until they were still firm- but moveble- this made it soooo much easier to fill! but yet they cooked all the way through in the oven. I also added the mixture into a ziploc bag and cut the corner off the bag to fill the shells- works fairly well if you do not have a piping bag! Plus you can get more filling into the shells and it's a let less mess- and looks more presentable and uniform!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I used fresh spinach and omitted the fennel...They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This recipe was amazing! I made it without fennel seed(just didn't have any) and used fresh spinach and homemade ricotta........super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This would have been great without the fennel seed. If you like fennel seed you will love it, but we don't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Delicious. We served them to a crowd of 25 guests at a going away party. Everybody there loved them. I am making them for Sunday dinner this week for my family. I will bake half and freeze half for another nights dinner. Yum. We used Ragu Roasted Garlic and Onion sauce. My favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Easy to make and yummy to eat. I used both parmesan and mozzerella cheeses in this recipe. I like the "servings calculation" feature at this website. Also, you can adjust some of the ingredients to suit your taste. Try it with a vodka creme sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLM216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
My family loved these. My husband has to have lots of meat in everything we make so I added sausage, and chopped up pepperoni to the mix. I also found that adding sauce to the bottom and sides of the dish before adding the shells helped to keep them from sticking on and drying out. I added more sauce and cheese to keep them from drying out and because we love cheese. This was a wonderful recipe. It was quick and easy to make and turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States