Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Good, but would do without the fennel next time. Would also top with more sauce and mozza cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Great recipe, only used one tablespoon of fennel seeds and it was way to much. Next time I will try it with only a half a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very great recipe def. a keeper...I added Hamburger meat seasoned with italian seasoning...my family are all meat eater so I didn't think the cheese would be very filling by itself!! Great for entertaining as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is an outstanding recipe. I enjoyed making it. Moreover, the family loved it! This is a keeper, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It was really yummy! I used red onions instead of yellow. I also used mozarella instead of parmesan cheese because it's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We made quite a few changes to this recipe. Those changes just fit our taste better. First of all I used creamed spinach and instead of ricotta cheese (none of us like it) we used a little bit of cream cheese and about a cup of mozzarella. We only put 1 Tbsp of fennel seeds, but next time I would definitely leave them out. I found the whole thing a little bland so next time I think I will add some spices to kick it up more. I used four cheese sauce since that is my husbands favorite. Also, I didn't need anywhere near 32 shells. I bet we overstuffed 20 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Yummy, i halfed the recipe and left out the fennel b/c I didn't have any on-hand. Next time I will use the fennel b/c I think it would have been more flavorful with it. Also I used low-fat ricotta instead, couldn't taste a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I scaled back this recipe to make 3 servings, and we still had a few left over. Yay! Now we have more yumminess to enjoy for another meal. I made a few minor adjustments to the recipe: added one egg, and used about ½ c. shredded mozzarella on the shells before adding the sauce on top. The shells came out looking beautiful- even the MIL complimented me on how they looked picture perfect. One suggestion- I LOVE fennel, but it made a difference ( in a good way) to make the filling before so that the fennel has a chance to mingle and mellow with the other flavors. I think next time I make these will add about ¼ c. chopped pine nuts to the filling. This is certainly a make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I liked it but my family didn't like the fennel (they said it tasted "minty"). Next time will use less fennel, and consider chopping it smaller so you can't feel/taste it as much. Otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I left out the fennel seed and added ground beef. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States