Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I think this is a good recipe. It needs more than 3 1/2 cups of sauce though. I probably used 5 cups and it could have used a tad more. I didn't need all the pasta shells. I used about 26 instead of 32 which means I may have stuffed too much into each shell. I did add some grated mozzarella cheese on top which was really yummy. I will make this again and I loved the fennel seeds in the stuffing. It was quite a taste surprise when biting into one of those little gems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Did not like this dish... :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I love spinach but there was too much spinach in proportion to the cheese. I would only use one package next time. The fennel was a really nice touch, although I only used about a teaspoon because that's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Yummy! Thanks very much for the recipe. I had to change just a wee bit cuz hubby is very fussy. But used all of your ideas and these are my keepers too. I made enough to freeze three more meals :-) Thanks again. Bev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I loved it! And it was easier than written since I took the lazy way out and used uncooked lasagna noodles and simply let the dish sit for the afternoon before cooking it. I made a quick sauce with canned tomatoes and left all the liquid in so the noodles coudl soak up the liquid (the trick is to thin your sauce, and also to make sure the noodles are completely covered) The fennel seeds in this gave the recipe such and interesting and fantastic taste. It was even better the next day, and I'm always looking for dishes I can cook ahead... this is one! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Had it for my sons, a vegetarian friend, and a bunch of college age kids. Everyone devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I left out the fennel, used only 1 package of spinach, added 1 cup of shredded mozarella to the filling, and mixed everything in the food processor to better disguise the spinach for my two year old. It was good,, maybe could use a little more seasoning to the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I left out the fennel seed, added shredded cheddar to the mixture along with some cayenne and black pepper. Sprinkled extra cheddar on top before baking. Was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Dinner of sides is my traditional Thanksgiving meal. Not that I don't like sides, but I wanted...more. I made these shells to share with the omnivores of our clan and they were met with rave reviews. I did find the fennel to be a touch overpowering when added as the recipe states. I made another batch using a teaspoon of fennel and that seemed perfect. I also used a bit more ricotta and mixed in some mozzarella cheese in the second batch and it was quite tasty. I found that using my immersion blender to mix the cheese and spinach mixture helped blend the spinach more evenly throughout the mixture--made it much creamier, too. Overall, an excellent standard and easily tweakable recipe that I am sure to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superkarynfragilistic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was quite tasty I think! I did add an onion - which I sauteed with the garlic, spinach and basil before mixing it with the cheese. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States