Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Alska Du
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner. I made it for "4" servings instead of 6 because I didn't have that many shells. I added an extra teaspoon of fennel seeds .. and I added extra sauce as I like saucy shells and sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top. Came out excellent! I will be making it again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I felt this meal was average. It needed something to give the dish an extra kick. Maybe spicy sausage or beef added. I don't think I'll make this again, but it was fun to make...stuffing the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janafay25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made this recipe with FRESH spinach and FRESH basil that I chopped in the food processor and mixed with ricotta, LOTS of garlic, and Parmesan cheese (I didn't have fennel seed on hand). I boiled the shells for 5 minutes and they were perfect to fill without cracking. I topped with fresh grated mozzarella, tomato basil sauce and more Parmesan. Absolutely delish! I think using all fresh ingredients really makes a big difference. I made it a second time for a girls night and everyone loved it, and all my vegetarian friends were really happy to have something good to eat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassieFlip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paradise, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I used the fennel called for in the recipe and didn't find it too strong...it added just the right amount of depth to the taste. I did use a spicier spaghetti sauce and added some red pepper, so perhaps that balanced it out a bit. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gretna, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
We loved this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was really tasty...I actually used some ideas from it for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These we're really good! Never made shells before, I will be making these again! One good way to add veggie's and my girls ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SlickSil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I upped the veggies by adding a bunch of scallions and chopped artichoke hearts. I punched up the flavor by doubling the fresh chopped garlic and adding fresh basil, and some red pepper flakes. For the sauce I mixed Safeway's Artichoke Pesto and a can of Muir's Glen fire-roasted crushed tomatoes . I reduced the Parm and subbed some low-fat mozzarella. While I loved it my daughter didn't like the fennel seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was good but lacking in the flavor department...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I think this is a good recipe. It needs more than 3 1/2 cups of sauce though. I probably used 5 cups and it could have used a tad more. I didn't need all the pasta shells. I used about 26 instead of 32 which means I may have stuffed too much into each shell. I did add some grated mozzarella cheese on top which was really yummy. I will make this again and I loved the fennel seeds in the stuffing. It was quite a taste surprise when biting into one of those little gems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States