Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This turned out great! I used 2 cups of cottage cheese (don't like ricotta) and used canned spinach drained and pressed super good in a strainer. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
A little too much basil and though I halved the spinach, it still seemed a bit much. Not quite cheesy enough for me either and I added mozzarella in the stuffing and on top. Go easy on filling the shells also because I wound up with a lot left over. Not bad, but just not my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was really easy to make especially since it was my first time making stuffed shells. I altered it a little bit though. I added cooked ground beef, italian seasonings & mozzarella cheese. I took out the fennel seed, salt and pepper cuz I thought it was just not needed. I did double the recipe for our large family but still only used 10 ounces of spinach and 4 garlic cloves. I think doubling either of those would've been overkill on the finished product. Since this was my first time making these, I wasn't sure how much filling to put in each shell. I think I may have overdone it bc I had quite a few shells left over, but whatever. I'll just use those for an easy lunch for the kids tmrw with sauce. :) With my adjustments, I filled a 9x13 pan and a 10x13 pan. Both were packed with shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewCookinMama
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Me
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very good! A little heavy on the spinach. Could have used more ricotta instead. I notice some pictures show with mozzarella. Totally not needed! My 14 yr old came back for 2nds and said we need to buy spinach more often! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
It was alright-not one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
very good, but I would like to keep looking. Though, my biggest complaint was the sauce. Maybe next time try it with MY spaghetti sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I made some slight changes and these were delicious. It was only me and my husband and so I halved the recipe. Instead of plain parmesan I used the shredded Italian cheese mix. I used 1 tsp ground fennel and 3 cloves garlic. I still spread 1/2 cup sauce in the dish before putting the shells in. I removed the foil the last 10 mins of baking. My picky 2 year old ate this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
For me (a seasoned gourmet cook), the filling needed more fennel and basil. I would double the basil and add another TBSP of fennel....which I ground. I released all of the water from the spinach and I believe that made the filling too dry. A little moisture in the spinach may have made it easier to mix. Bake it only 30 minutes or the shells begin to dry out. And choose a sauce your really enjoy as that can really enhance the recipe. I used vodka sauce, but think that next time I would use a sauce that is more garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yummy!! I changed the original recipe a bit to the ingredients I had on hand. Made my own spaghetti sauce, added 1 egg,1c. mozzerella and 1c. of cottage cheese to the ricotta cheese mixture. I also used a bag of fresh baby spinach (finely chopped) and sauteed it with chopped onion and about four cloves of garlic in olive oil. I also only used 1 tbl. of fennel. I only cooked the shells 5 min. as someone else said. Came out great.My husband loved it. I will definitely will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was good, but needed a little heat. I used fresh spinach rather than frozen. Next time I will add some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States