Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My advice is SAUTE THE GARLIC! If you don't saute it before adding it to the mixture it stays pretty much raw and is what I think ruined this for me. This has all the elements to be good, but wasn't quite there! I skipped the fennel, just personal taste. I also found that there was too much spinach and it made the filling quite stringy instead of nice & smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
To us this wasn't the greatest dish we ever had. We love spinach but this dish had way to much. It was all spinach and not enough ricotta. The recipe calls for 1/3 C. parm to go in the recipe and 2/3 C to go on top. I think this was a typo and 1/3 C. was suppose to go on top. WAAAAY to much parm on top. I will search for a better recipe and if I do make this again I will use 1/2 the spinach and make up the missing spinach with ricotta. The spinach also needed precooked some because the 30 min. cooking time left the spinach to tough and the stuffing of the shells was just barely warm. I think it needs to be cooked at least 40 maybe even 50 minutes. Tonz of ppl love this recipe though so thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Good, but would do without the fennel next time. Would also top with more sauce and mozza cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Great recipe, only used one tablespoon of fennel seeds and it was way to much. Next time I will try it with only a half a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very great recipe def. a keeper...I added Hamburger meat seasoned with italian seasoning...my family are all meat eater so I didn't think the cheese would be very filling by itself!! Great for entertaining as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is an outstanding recipe. I enjoyed making it. Moreover, the family loved it! This is a keeper, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It was really yummy! I used red onions instead of yellow. I also used mozarella instead of parmesan cheese because it's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We made quite a few changes to this recipe. Those changes just fit our taste better. First of all I used creamed spinach and instead of ricotta cheese (none of us like it) we used a little bit of cream cheese and about a cup of mozzarella. We only put 1 Tbsp of fennel seeds, but next time I would definitely leave them out. I found the whole thing a little bland so next time I think I will add some spices to kick it up more. I used four cheese sauce since that is my husbands favorite. Also, I didn't need anywhere near 32 shells. I bet we overstuffed 20 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Yummy, i halfed the recipe and left out the fennel b/c I didn't have any on-hand. Next time I will use the fennel b/c I think it would have been more flavorful with it. Also I used low-fat ricotta instead, couldn't taste a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I scaled back this recipe to make 3 servings, and we still had a few left over. Yay! Now we have more yumminess to enjoy for another meal. I made a few minor adjustments to the recipe: added one egg, and used about ½ c. shredded mozzarella on the shells before adding the sauce on top. The shells came out looking beautiful- even the MIL complimented me on how they looked picture perfect. One suggestion- I LOVE fennel, but it made a difference ( in a good way) to make the filling before so that the fennel has a chance to mingle and mellow with the other flavors. I think next time I make these will add about ¼ c. chopped pine nuts to the filling. This is certainly a make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States