Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Alska Du
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner. I made it for "4" servings instead of 6 because I didn't have that many shells. I added an extra teaspoon of fennel seeds .. and I added extra sauce as I like saucy shells and sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top. Came out excellent! I will be making it again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I felt this meal was average. It needed something to give the dish an extra kick. Maybe spicy sausage or beef added. I don't think I'll make this again, but it was fun to make...stuffing the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janafay25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made this recipe with FRESH spinach and FRESH basil that I chopped in the food processor and mixed with ricotta, LOTS of garlic, and Parmesan cheese (I didn't have fennel seed on hand). I boiled the shells for 5 minutes and they were perfect to fill without cracking. I topped with fresh grated mozzarella, tomato basil sauce and more Parmesan. Absolutely delish! I think using all fresh ingredients really makes a big difference. I made it a second time for a girls night and everyone loved it, and all my vegetarian friends were really happy to have something good to eat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassieFlip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paradise, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I used the fennel called for in the recipe and didn't find it too strong...it added just the right amount of depth to the taste. I did use a spicier spaghetti sauce and added some red pepper, so perhaps that balanced it out a bit. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gretna, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
We loved this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was really tasty...I actually used some ideas from it for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These we're really good! Never made shells before, I will be making these again! One good way to add veggie's and my girls ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SlickSil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I upped the veggies by adding a bunch of scallions and chopped artichoke hearts. I punched up the flavor by doubling the fresh chopped garlic and adding fresh basil, and some red pepper flakes. For the sauce I mixed Safeway's Artichoke Pesto and a can of Muir's Glen fire-roasted crushed tomatoes . I reduced the Parm and subbed some low-fat mozzarella. While I loved it my daughter didn't like the fennel seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was good but lacking in the flavor department...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I think this is a good recipe. It needs more than 3 1/2 cups of sauce though. I probably used 5 cups and it could have used a tad more. I didn't need all the pasta shells. I used about 26 instead of 32 which means I may have stuffed too much into each shell. I did add some grated mozzarella cheese on top which was really yummy. I will make this again and I loved the fennel seeds in the stuffing. It was quite a taste surprise when biting into one of those little gems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States