Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
Simple to make and very good. This recipe is very flexible and additional ingredients can be added to suit individual preferences. I do agree the fennel seeds really add something. The next time I make these, I will double the fennel. Be careful not to over boil the shells before draining and stuffing. About five minutes in boiling water makes them tender. I used a potato ricer to “squeeze” the water out of the spinach. I then used a food processor to mix all of the ingredients. Since the spinach is usually long and stringy, the food processor method gives you a perfectly mixed filling that is easy to handle when filling the shells. Serve this with a green salad and garlic bread. It’s a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
I made this last night for dinner- my husband and I loved it. I omitted the fennel seeds, used fresh chopped basil and served it with spicy low fat crumbled turkey sausage. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Wow! These were so good, I couldn't believe it. The fennel seeds added just the right flavor. I actually didn't have enough spinach (I used fresh), so I added sauteed mushrooms. I also didn't have enough ricotta cheese, so I added cottage cheese...and they turned out fabulous!!! I will definitely be making these again. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
If you like and or love fennel then you'll like this recipe. When I was making it I couldn't remember what fennel tasted like and didn't think to take a taste it but you definatly taste it in the finished product. I will make this again but sans fennel, it seems to be a good recipe to play around with and make your own. Other than that as others had noted I also added mozzerella and a a beaten egg. A great vegetarian main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
We love this dish! Had never tried the fennel seed - that was yummy! I added about 1 cup grated mozzarella to the cheese mixture as well as a beaten egg (just think it binds the filling a little better). Also sprinkled mozzarella over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Good recipie, I added more cheese than the recipie intended, but thats the way my family likes it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I skipped the fennel seed in this one-everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
These were quite easy to make, and they were delicious. They make for great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Excellent! I made a few changes...... One box of jumbo shells made 4 dinners for my husband and I (5 shells each). I used 2 tubs of ricotta, only 2 cloves of garlic, 2 packages of spinach and 2 cans of Bravo sauce which I cooked with the garlic and 2 small onions. I bought 3 tin containers with cardboard lids (you can find them at the grocery or dollar store for a dollar something) and filled the three throwable containers and one regular baking pan with the shells. While our dinner was baking, I covered the rest of the containers with a piece of cardboard tightly and placed it in a freezer bag. After they had cooled, I threw them in the freezer for "TV dinners". Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This was so easy! They were delicious. I melted some shredded mozzerella on top the last 5 minutes, it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSunshine03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States