Spinach and Cheese Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I chose this recipe because it recieved 4 stars out of 43 reviews. I was suprised how it turned out. I think it was allright. It wasn't the greatest meal I have made. I have had better. I would not make this recipe again without changing it. I think I would put in sausage that was precooked in olive oil. The fennel seemed to taste "off" with the meat missing. This also adds the right amount of fat needed for a certain flavor, that I felt was missing. I also think adding mozzerella would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Abigail enjoyed helping stuff the shells
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Very Good! After reading other reviews, I did make modifications to the recipe. I used 1 package of chopped spinach (plenty), omitted the Fennel, and added 1 pound of Italian Sausage (Cooked & Drained), and used 2 regular jars of Preggo. I put 1/2 lb of the sausage in the spinach - cheese mixture and sprinkled 1/4 lb of the sausage in the sauce layer. My kids won't eat spinach. So I mixed an additional 1 C Ricotta, 1/4 C Parmesan, and remaining 1/4 lb sausage for their shell stuffing. I used 2 - 9" square pans, baked one and refrigerated the other one for the next day. Each pan makes enough for 4 people. I also suggest you increase the bake time to 45 - 60 minutes if you stack the stuffed shells in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Wonderful! Easy to make, fast to make, and what presentation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I'm making this review kind of prematurely, but it looks SO good :P I havent even cooked it yet, made it ahead of time as suggested in the other reviews :D I also added the shredded cheese and egg which was also suggested and halfed the spinich.. It looked like plenty to me :) It smells heavenly uncooked! lol Lets hope its a winner with the 7 other ppl in the house :P It's not hard to impress me with anything that has cheese, sauce and pasta. If anyone had a problem with this recipe, I'm sorry to say YOU f'ed it up lol .. Its SO easy to do and easy to tweek to ur own preferences! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This recipe is great! The only thing different I did was added some browned Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Good standard shell recipes. Sometimes I add sausage to the filling mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Very good! I didn't use the spinach, I just served it on the side. I didn't have enough filling to stuff all the shells. I left out the fennel and added mozzarella cheese. I will make these again. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I used manicotti shells, and added some mozzarella to the filling. I also made half with fennel and half without. I preferred without fennel, and I added some mozzarella and sauce on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stef T.
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
The edges that weren't covered with the sauce turned hard but the other parts were delicious. I halved the spinach and added mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef T.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States