Spinach and Buttermilk Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I liked it. I had 3cups of drying spinach in the frig and wanted to use it. I stuffed it into my Ninja processor with 1.5 cups of buttermilk and chopped it fine. Next, in the Ninja, a cup of no fat milk and three tablespoons of natural peanut butter, then added it to the saucepan with the spinach buttermilk. I didn't have cumin seeds, so I used powdered, also, I didn't have serrano peppers, so substituted one teaspoon of powdered Mexican arbol peppers. I tried cooking the powdered cumin and peppers in olive oil, but in hindsight, would have just added them to the saucepan with one tablespoon of olive oil. I mixed the corn starch with the water then added that with the sugar to the saucepan. I stirred constantly to boiling, expecting the cornstarch to make the soup somewhat thicker. It was a little hotter than my wife could stand, so again, in hindsight, I would bump the pepper down to half a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mild Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is an interesting combination of flavors. I chose it to use up some buttermilk, but I don't think I'll be making it again. My husband wouldn't eat it. I added some chicken broth to mellow out the strong flavor of the buttermilk. If you don't really like the flavor of buttermilk, do not make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe was very quick, simple and satisfying! I had to substitute a few things because I didn't have everything on hand: 2tsp flour for the cornstarch, cumin powder and jalapeno peppers. I imagine it would be even better with all the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I made this to use up some buttermilk and I was not a fan. My mom said it's 2 stars, but my husband and I give it 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Maybe I was less of a buttermilk fan than I thought...because I probably will not make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This recipe is not for everyone, but I thought it was fantastic! I chopped up 3 jalapenos instead of just halving serranos, because I wanted lots of spice and something to chew on besides the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
The flavor of the soup was excellent. I think next time I might puree all of the spinach to make it easier to eat. Also, I didn't quite understand what to do with the peppers. I cut them in half as suggested. But was I supposed to scrap them into the pot and then remove them after heating the soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I started with fresh spinach and used low fat buttermilk, and ground cumin, fresh peppers. Loved it! Great combination of flavors. I think I'd use even more peanuts or chop a few up to make it nuttier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States