Spinach and Blue Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
DEELISH! I loved this soup - the only changes I made were to use fresh Spinach. I chose not to puree the end result and was pleased with the texture. I will probably omit the bacon next time. This is a very filling dish on it's own as the blue cheese gives it a very rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. My clientele consists not only of local residents but tourists from around the world. I am expected to prepare extraordinary soups and specials on a daily basis...on a limited budget with limited time. My ratings are based on customer response...so take them seriously. I have earned the reputation as the Soup Nazi (Seinfeld lol). I hate bleu cheese but liked this soup. I used cream cheese instead of milk and fresh spinach (frozen spinach often has a fishy smell and taste). Customers like a soup with texture so I didn't puree anything. Tastes good and looks good. A bit of parmesan on top when you serve is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Wow!! Maybe the best soup I've ever tasted!! I made it exactly as directed, except that I only hd about half of the cheese that the recipe called for (I mis-judged at the grocery store). It still turned out fantastic. I can onlt imagine how rich it would have been with all of the cheese. I will be making this again soon, and would definitely make it for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This soup was phenomenal! Tasted like something you would get in a high end restaurant. Very rich and creamy. I followed the recipe almost exactly but instead of thickening with flour I thickened with 1 package of cream cheese (because I'm eating low carb). The blue cheese flavor was mild enough for someone like me that enjoys blue cheese now and then but doesn't totally love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
We found the blue cheese to be just a little bit funky in this, despite the fact that we like blue cheese quite a bit. Live and learn -- nothing wrong with this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This recipe was WONDERFUL!!! Both my kiddos ate it and it is very hard to get them to eat veggies (especially green ones). I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I will make this again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Florence, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm a big fan of blue cheese and cheese soups, so I thought I would love this. Unfortunately, I didn't care for it, and neither did anyone else I tried to give it to. It didn't seem creamy enough for a cheese soup. I made it according to the instructions, except that I used fresh spinach as some other reviewers did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Who would've thought to put blue cheese and spinach in a soup?!?! It was delicious! Followed the recipe pretty closely only using fresh spinach, switching evap milk for cream and just sprinkling real bacon bits on top upon serving. And I didn't puree. Would've liked to see it thicken a bit more. Might up the flour some next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was a tasty soup. Just to make it easier, I did not puree it and completely omitted the cream, and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used half canned broth, half homemade broth, and I cut back on the spinach a little as I'm not a huge fan of it. Absolutely outstanding. Rich, delicious, simple to make. Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States