Spinach and Blue Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I would give this 4 1/2 stars -- only because although i thoroughly enjoyed it, my husband did not...so I quess I must add that this soup has a particular taste for particular taste buds! But if you like the spinach/artichoke dip from TGIF, then you will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe does make a ton. I cut it in half and it still was a lot(for two- we were sick of it by the 3rd day). Rich and creamy and definately for blue cheese lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Wow this is yummy! I made half a batch but used about 2/3 the blue cheese called for in the original recipe. It was super! The half-recipe made at least 6 LARGE dinner-sized portions. UPDATE: I made this again recently, made a full batch but doubled the called for amount of blue cheese. I used two varieties, Maytag and a smoked blue. The smoked blue gave it a great flavor. And using an emersion blender is the only way to go. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was really yummy. I guess that for some reason, I was expecting a creamier thicker soup. Even the kiddos liked it. We sprinkled it with bacos instead of using bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was quite good. I made it exactly as directed and it came out fine. I didn't use the bacon at the end - I forgot about it. It does make a lot of soup so I am following the advice of others and freezing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used half canned broth, half homemade broth, and I cut back on the spinach a little as I'm not a huge fan of it. Absolutely outstanding. Rich, delicious, simple to make. Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Fantastic recipe and a definite keeper. My kids gobbled it up and my hubby, who is not a soup fan, decided he wanted seconds. My modifications: I broiled the bacon while I was starting the onions and butter. I added precooked cut chicken breast meat when I added the broth. I used the bacon grease to saute mushrooms I added near the end. I omitted the 4 cups milk as my pan was getting too full and substituted a can of condensed milk for the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Made this soup exactly per the directions, it was wonderful. Both my husband and I love it as a main dish, very filling! The recipe makes lots of soup, so I froze it. This soup recipe freezes very well. You could change the vegetables around to mix it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANCHIP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
It was great! My daughter loved it. Will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Great recipe! Even my kids ate a bowl (minus the spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States