Spinach and Blue Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Added garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sadieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm a big fan of blue cheese and cheese soups, so I thought I would love this. Unfortunately, I didn't care for it, and neither did anyone else I tried to give it to. It didn't seem creamy enough for a cheese soup. I made it according to the instructions, except that I used fresh spinach as some other reviewers did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
We found the blue cheese to be just a little bit funky in this, despite the fact that we like blue cheese quite a bit. Live and learn -- nothing wrong with this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
A crowd pleaser, that we served to our testers hot. Some folks were timid to try this, but after the first taste it was rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chinachewy
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
The soup turned out awesome. After I had salted it to taste, I puree'ed the bacon in with the soup which made it a little bit saltier... Whoops. Next time I'll salt to taste afterwards. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chinachewy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
It tasted okay, but I would advise using fresh spinach....I liked it better hot than cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Who would've thought to put blue cheese and spinach in a soup?!?! It was delicious! Followed the recipe pretty closely only using fresh spinach, switching evap milk for cream and just sprinkling real bacon bits on top upon serving. And I didn't puree. Would've liked to see it thicken a bit more. Might up the flour some next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I used gorgonzola, not that special a result. It was good but not great. I question whether bleu cheese would have vastly improved it. but it was a decent dinner, reheatable lunch, and freezable future meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Recommended by a friend to try and glad I did!!! I used only 1/2 pound bacon. Fried it 1st off so I could use 2 Tbl of grease with butter. I also added 1 glove chopped garlic with the onions. I went heavy on the blue cheese and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very tasty. I topped each serving with a crumble or two of blue cheese. Also, I made a batch with chopped, grilled chicken and it was delicious that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States