Spinach and Black Bean Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I was sceptical but it turned out OK. Had some black beans and broccoli I wanted to use and since I don't eat spinach I would have substituted it with bok choy if I had any. Forewent vegetable for chicken stock and cayenne for chilli pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPepper13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cave Hill, Saint Michael, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was pretty good, and very healthy-tasting. We tend to prefer saucy pasta, and there isn't much of a sauce to this. The flavors didn't seem to blend well, though it wasn't unpleasant, and it was a very quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Everyone really liked this including my 6 yr old who had 2nd's. I made exactly as written except I used fresh broccoli florets instead of frozen chopped. I will make this again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was tasty; I will make this again. Next time, I will saute the onion and garlic in a little olive oil; also, a bit too much liquid - I added a small amount of Miso to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I read all 33 reviews before making this dish and decided to make as directed first. I cooked the broth and vegetables in a large skillet and the broth cooked way down while the veggies were cooking so mine was not soupy at all. It had just enough broth to keep the pasta moist after I mixed the pasta into the dish at the end. I added enough red pepper flakes to make it mellow and not hot. I too felt it needed more seasoning beyond salt and pepper, but I didn't want to go the southwestern flavor route. I waited until the whole wheat pasta was cooked, then tried a taste test with a spoonful seasoned with basil. Next, a spoonful with oregano. I ended up adding dried basil and dried oregano to taste (a generous half-teaspoon each) and it tasted very good with the cheese sprinkled on. This is a very good week night dish. I liked it and my husband did also but commented that he would like maybe some Italian sausage on the side! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was pretty good for a hurry-up, vegetarian meal, but I think it could have used a bit more flavoring. I had no stock on hand so I used a can of tomatoes in puree, extra garlic and oregano. It was very soupy, so I also added a tbsp. of tomato paste. Next time I think I'd add some cumin and chili powder and top with some cheddar cheese instead of the parmesan. I felt this dish was trying to decide whether to go Italian or Mexican/Southwest, and either way it would need a little more seasonings. But it was still good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this for my daughter to take back to college with her. She thought it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I'm trying to cook more vegetarian dishes for both health and environmental concerns. It is difficult to find good ones and this was surprisingly very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schasel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I have used this recipe a few times. It's very good and healthful (minus the parmesan). I would recomend this to anyone. Oh, and it's high in fiber. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CasiK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Sorry, to me this recipe was just ok nothing special. Served with whole wheat penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States