Spinach and Black Bean Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This was really delicious. Even my roomate, who is a meat-and-potatoes person, loved it. The flavors blended so well... I am DEFINITELY making this agian. I used frozen spinach, chicken broth, and extra garlic. I also forgot to add the tomatoes (oops!), and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was excellent. I increased the amount of broccoli, spinach,. onion and tomatoes.... just because I like them. I also added some cumin along with the cayenne. After cooking, I thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch. This is a very fast one dish healthy meal. When I reheated leftovers, I stirred in a couple of tablespoon of fat free cream cheese.. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
It's not haute cuisine, but it's easy, healthy, and tastes good. I enjoyed the little bit of heat the cayenne added, but those with small children or wimpy boyfriends might want to cut the amount a bit. Also, the recipe might make 8 servings if it is used as a side dish, but it will serve less (maybe 4 servings) if used as a main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I really liked this even though I made a couple of modifications as stated by others. I used frozen spinach (all I had on hand). I added cumin and found I did not have tomatoes, so I made it without. I used brown rice instead of pasta and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristen m
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I did this differently but it was really good. I used 1/2 lb pasta, aout 1/2 cup chicken broth, and also halved the spinach (used frozen), but I kept the entire can of black beans, used a whole head of broccoli, and used a medium can of spicy diced tomatoes in place of the fresh chopped tomato. I also added some crushed red pepper in addition to the other seasonings. We really liked this as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I did as another reviewer suggested and added oregano and chili powder and upped the cayene. I cooked 1/2 package of wheat rotini and appx 1 cup veggie broth. Great flavor. Will definitely make this again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
To be such an easy, fast vegetarian pasta meal with bean protein and this kind of flavor - this will be a standard meal for my family! I made it without cayenne pepper or additional salt. I also used about 1.5 times the diced tomatoes, and they were canned. Next time I will drain them (but it didn't affect the flavor). I'll definitely try it with brown rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I really liked this recipe. The only thing I did different was using a can of rotel, instead of the tomatoes. The recipe makes alot, so be ready for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe was great but I did make a few changes. I sauteed the spinach, onion, and garlic (3 cloves instead of 1) in olive oil instead of boiling in veggie broth. I also added a can of diced tomatoes (liquid included), and spiced it up with cumin and italian seasoning. I topped with 2% mozzarella cheese and grated parmesan. Delicous and my husband loved it too! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I was very skeptical of this recipe, but I had spinach and broccoli that needed using up so I gave it a try. It was amazingly delicious! The only change I had to make was chicken broth rather than vegetable broth. I have tried this with vegetable broth, the chicken broth definitely gives it better flavor. I also would recommend using two garlic cloves. You could easily add more of the vegetables, as they cook down quite a bit, or just halve the amount of noodles used. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States