Spinach and Black Bean Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was excellent. I increased the amount of broccoli, spinach,. onion and tomatoes.... just because I like them. I also added some cumin along with the cayenne. After cooking, I thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch. This is a very fast one dish healthy meal. When I reheated leftovers, I stirred in a couple of tablespoon of fat free cream cheese.. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I was very skeptical of this recipe, but I had spinach and broccoli that needed using up so I gave it a try. It was amazingly delicious! The only change I had to make was chicken broth rather than vegetable broth. I have tried this with vegetable broth, the chicken broth definitely gives it better flavor. I also would recommend using two garlic cloves. You could easily add more of the vegetables, as they cook down quite a bit, or just halve the amount of noodles used. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This was really delicious. Even my roomate, who is a meat-and-potatoes person, loved it. The flavors blended so well... I am DEFINITELY making this agian. I used frozen spinach, chicken broth, and extra garlic. I also forgot to add the tomatoes (oops!), and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
It's not haute cuisine, but it's easy, healthy, and tastes good. I enjoyed the little bit of heat the cayenne added, but those with small children or wimpy boyfriends might want to cut the amount a bit. Also, the recipe might make 8 servings if it is used as a side dish, but it will serve less (maybe 4 servings) if used as a main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristen m
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I did this differently but it was really good. I used 1/2 lb pasta, aout 1/2 cup chicken broth, and also halved the spinach (used frozen), but I kept the entire can of black beans, used a whole head of broccoli, and used a medium can of spicy diced tomatoes in place of the fresh chopped tomato. I also added some crushed red pepper in addition to the other seasonings. We really liked this as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I did as another reviewer suggested and added oregano and chili powder and upped the cayene. I cooked 1/2 package of wheat rotini and appx 1 cup veggie broth. Great flavor. Will definitely make this again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
To be such an easy, fast vegetarian pasta meal with bean protein and this kind of flavor - this will be a standard meal for my family! I made it without cayenne pepper or additional salt. I also used about 1.5 times the diced tomatoes, and they were canned. Next time I will drain them (but it didn't affect the flavor). I'll definitely try it with brown rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I really liked this recipe. The only thing I did different was using a can of rotel, instead of the tomatoes. The recipe makes alot, so be ready for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe was great but I did make a few changes. I sauteed the spinach, onion, and garlic (3 cloves instead of 1) in olive oil instead of boiling in veggie broth. I also added a can of diced tomatoes (liquid included), and spiced it up with cumin and italian seasoning. I topped with 2% mozzarella cheese and grated parmesan. Delicous and my husband loved it too! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I really liked this even though I made a couple of modifications as stated by others. I used frozen spinach (all I had on hand). I added cumin and found I did not have tomatoes, so I made it without. I used brown rice instead of pasta and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States