Spinach and Black Bean Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I was very skeptical of this recipe, but I had spinach and broccoli that needed using up so I gave it a try. It was amazingly delicious! The only change I had to make was chicken broth rather than vegetable broth. I have tried this with vegetable broth, the chicken broth definitely gives it better flavor. I also would recommend using two garlic cloves. You could easily add more of the vegetables, as they cook down quite a bit, or just halve the amount of noodles used. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe. I had a hard time finding veggie broth and wound up with a box of veggie soup, so I simply added water to thin it out a bit. The cayenne added just enough of a kick to make this interesting, although my two year old didn't seem to like it much. I love the vegetables in this recipe and it made for a nice presentation with good flavors. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I really liked this even though I made a couple of modifications as stated by others. I used frozen spinach (all I had on hand). I added cumin and found I did not have tomatoes, so I made it without. I used brown rice instead of pasta and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I've been making this recipe for several years. It's so tasty and easy to prepare. I use slightly less broth (about 1 cup) and usually add extra garlic. I'll also use fresh broccoli instead of frozen -- this just increases the cook time slightly, but it's so worth it. We usually eat this over rice and not the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very satisfying and healthy but I had to tweak it a bit. I still may tweak it the next time I make it as I feel it needs some extra seasonings. First of all, I followed another readers advice and sauteed the onion, garlic and spinach first. I used 3 cloves but I think it could use more. Spinach really cooks down so if you like spinach, use a lot of it. I used 3/4 lb and it shrunk to almost nothing. I used fresh brocolli crowns (3 bunches) and some roma tomatoes from my garden. My husband and I devoured this dish, it does make a lot and I just had leftovers for lunch! He thought maybe next time I should use chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth and to add some italian seasonings as it was a bit bland. But overall, an excellent recipe and extremely filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
skipped the broccoli-added a full package of arugula (5 oz)and more garlic plus tomatoes seasoned with green chiles; but cut down on cayenne to balance sauteed onion, garlic, arugula; very goodand fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe was great but I did make a few changes. I sauteed the spinach, onion, and garlic (3 cloves instead of 1) in olive oil instead of boiling in veggie broth. I also added a can of diced tomatoes (liquid included), and spiced it up with cumin and italian seasoning. I topped with 2% mozzarella cheese and grated parmesan. Delicous and my husband loved it too! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Hey, what a lovely recipe! Great way of getting my veggie-hating brother to eat his greens! However: Just one problem with the recipe..WAY TOO SPICY! I advise to use 1/4tsp of the cayenne pepper, as it is a very strong spice. Oh and i made this dish with two adaptions, i used a tin of black eyed peas instead of black beans, and i use penne instead of rotini pasta. But yeah, if you added less cayenne, i would say this is a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I really liked this recipe. The only thing I did different was using a can of rotel, instead of the tomatoes. The recipe makes alot, so be ready for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
We only had 8 oz of pasta, but that was enough. My husband spiced his up a bit & he really liked it, whereas I thought it was a bit bland (would recommend some additional spices). Very filling though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States