Spinach and Black Bean Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe. I had a hard time finding veggie broth and wound up with a box of veggie soup, so I simply added water to thin it out a bit. The cayenne added just enough of a kick to make this interesting, although my two year old didn't seem to like it much. I love the vegetables in this recipe and it made for a nice presentation with good flavors. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I really liked this even though I made a couple of modifications as stated by others. I used frozen spinach (all I had on hand). I added cumin and found I did not have tomatoes, so I made it without. I used brown rice instead of pasta and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I've been making this recipe for several years. It's so tasty and easy to prepare. I use slightly less broth (about 1 cup) and usually add extra garlic. I'll also use fresh broccoli instead of frozen -- this just increases the cook time slightly, but it's so worth it. We usually eat this over rice and not the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very satisfying and healthy but I had to tweak it a bit. I still may tweak it the next time I make it as I feel it needs some extra seasonings. First of all, I followed another readers advice and sauteed the onion, garlic and spinach first. I used 3 cloves but I think it could use more. Spinach really cooks down so if you like spinach, use a lot of it. I used 3/4 lb and it shrunk to almost nothing. I used fresh brocolli crowns (3 bunches) and some roma tomatoes from my garden. My husband and I devoured this dish, it does make a lot and I just had leftovers for lunch! He thought maybe next time I should use chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth and to add some italian seasonings as it was a bit bland. But overall, an excellent recipe and extremely filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
skipped the broccoli-added a full package of arugula (5 oz)and more garlic plus tomatoes seasoned with green chiles; but cut down on cayenne to balance sauteed onion, garlic, arugula; very goodand fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe was great but I did make a few changes. I sauteed the spinach, onion, and garlic (3 cloves instead of 1) in olive oil instead of boiling in veggie broth. I also added a can of diced tomatoes (liquid included), and spiced it up with cumin and italian seasoning. I topped with 2% mozzarella cheese and grated parmesan. Delicous and my husband loved it too! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Hey, what a lovely recipe! Great way of getting my veggie-hating brother to eat his greens! However: Just one problem with the recipe..WAY TOO SPICY! I advise to use 1/4tsp of the cayenne pepper, as it is a very strong spice. Oh and i made this dish with two adaptions, i used a tin of black eyed peas instead of black beans, and i use penne instead of rotini pasta. But yeah, if you added less cayenne, i would say this is a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I really liked this recipe. The only thing I did different was using a can of rotel, instead of the tomatoes. The recipe makes alot, so be ready for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
We only had 8 oz of pasta, but that was enough. My husband spiced his up a bit & he really liked it, whereas I thought it was a bit bland (would recommend some additional spices). Very filling though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I liked this alot. You could even eat the sauce like a soup, it was that tasty even without adding the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Pasta with Corn, Black Beans, & Avocado

Iowa inspires a simple pasta salad with corn, beans, avocado, and cotija cheese.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States