Spinach and Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Surprisingly good for something so simple! Fennel seemed like an odd choice, but somehow it just works--I'd advise against subbing other seasonings in its place, at least on the first go round. I followed the advice of others and used canned, not fresh, black-eyed peas and just a 14.5-oz can of tomatoes. I also used whole unground fennel seeds, two bags of spinach (~4-5 cups), only 1 1/2 ts of salt, and a liberal sprinkling of black pepper, and I let it cook down on the stove rather than transferring to the oven. I thought this recipe would be underwhelming, but it's really excellent--will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Browne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Super easy to make and tasted great. Served it with bulgur and they were perfect together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki4God

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Not a bad dish, both my husband and I liked it, but not good enough to save the leftovers. Also, my girls (3 & 5) did not care for it at all, so it is probably not a dish I would make again. I thought the fennel seed was a little overpowering, so I wish I would've gone with my initial instincts and just added some basil and oregano instead. I think that the fennel was the main turnoff for my kids, as well. If I ever do make this again, I will switch out the herbs and serve it as a side dish rather than a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My husband LOVED it! We added couscous to it and it became a fabulous casserole- very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is super. I doubled the recipe - two 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes, one can of black-eyed peas and I used almost two full bags (10oz each) of fresh spinach due to spinach's magnificent shrinking act. One onion is plenty when doubling. I also only had fennel seed and didn't have the patience to grind it. After saute-ing all of it, I drained out some of the liquid and baked it as directed. My 19 month old kept asking for more and I had to pull the fork from my husband to save it for the guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Interesting blend of flavours! We enjoyed the mild fennel flavour. I made this meal entirely in a large saucepan and used fresh tomatoes from the garden. Quick, easy and tasty. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very Good! I added 2 cloves of garlic and only used 1 tsp of salt. My family loved this recipe for our meatless Monday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very tasty. Since I didn't have a pressure cooker, nor time to soak and cook dried black-eyed peas, I used canned organic black-eyed peas. And here's a happy accident: I mistakenly used too much salt, so to counteract it, I added some cooked macaroni to the finished dish. Nice addition. By the way, the baking step at the end may not be crucial, but your call.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Oh wow, this is scrumptious and hearty. I read other reviews and made minor changes: 14.5 oz can of tomatoes instead of the larger one, used half the salt, and added a clove of pressed garlic and a bit of cayenne pepper. I had whole fennel seeds on hand so I did my best to chop them a bit with a knife. it turned out awesome. I think I'm going to explode from eating too much of this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States