Spinach and Bacon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Normally I avoid anything with heavy cream AND bacon, but I had both on hand and gave this a try. How can you go wrong with this combination of ingrediants? This is a fabulous recipe (I used a pinot gregio)! It is so fast, so easy, and so delicious. As for the ugly duckling - it really didn't look that bad, just make sure you don't cook the spinach to death. Thanks, Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
best dinner my husband has ever had. will try it with pheasant too. easy and elegant- put the spinach on the plate first -chicken on top- looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
i did this recipe and it was great i used a sauvignon blanc white wine but the sauce could use a little kick i added pepper and garlic to the mix. i will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Yummo!!! The only changes I made was that I added 1 1/2 cups of sliced mushrooms and used Marsala instead of white wine. So good! Will make it a regular at my house now. Even my boys, ages 7 and 21 months ate seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This recipe is SO easy and delicious. I prepared this dish for my girlfriend tonight because we had been wanting to try it for the last week. Bacon? Heavy cream? What else is there in life, really? That being said this recipe is surprisingly delicate. It may be too bland for you if you are the type of person who is used to or prefers a lot of salt or other seasonings in your food. My girlfriend didn't like this at all. She thought it was too bland. The word bacon alone makes most of us think yummy, greasy flavor. There really isn't that much bacon in the recipe and i think it adds just the right touch of guilt. I served this dish over penne pasta and I will definitely make it again but not for my girlfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was VERY rich, VERY filling but wonderful! I followed the recipe but was almost out of white cooking wine... so I compensated with what I had which happened to be rum (how hillbilly is that?!). I had a dish similar to this at a rather upscale Italian Restaurant north of Chicago (minus the rum I'd imagine). I have never been able to duplicate it exactly. I think this recipe came really close but the sauce was a bit heavier - or maybe just more of it (thanks, Captain Morgan). Seems it would be easy to adjust the recipe; lose the bacon, add garlic to the sauce etc.. All around great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Thanks, Kris! My husband wants me to keep this recipe, which I'm happy to do as it's easy and flavorful. My "bunch of spinach" was two bags of prewashed--took a little stuffing into the pan initially, but then it cooked right down into a nice amount, and I used the chicken thighs on hand. BTW, we also didn't have extra grease to pour off. The wine, sadly, was just old cooking wine because everything else disappears around here and I don't have it when I need it, but in your recipe it worked well. Thanks very much for "Kris's Spinach and Bacon Chicken."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I served this over pasta and it was a big hit! WIll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was wonderful! Never mind the fact that I took the chicken out of the pan, put it on paper towels, went out to throw away trash and came back in to find that the dog had counter surfed and eaten one of our chickens! We ended up splitting the remaining piece, but it was wonderful! I topped with tomato slices and parm cheese when I put them back into the pan, and our only complaint was against the klepto dog! I'll certainly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
It actually took a little longer than I anticipated, but I was doing other things at the same time, so that could be why. Anyway, it was very good- my entire family loved it. I also added a can of mushrooms to it. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 milk instead of the heavy cream(I do this in all recipes that call for cream). Very good! I made campanelle and mixed it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States